filtering recommendations?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

enviraMENTAL

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi- I've been keeping fw fish for about 10 years now and have recently decided to go sw. I have been doing a little research before I make the leap into the hobby, but some info seems contradictory. Maybe someone out there can help. I intend to have a 30 gal reef tank. My main questions concern filtration. I have read books that recommend an underwater filter with a deep sand bed(3-4") and others that say anything deeper that 1.5" promotes anaerobic bacteria, which is bad, even thought the Berlin system depends on small areas of low oxygen. I would like to know if anybody uses the Berlin method in combination with an exterior cannister filter with AC, or is this unnecessary?.The only equipment I have now is basically my old fw tank and stand so I will be buying new stuff, I'm just kind of confused about which way to go.

With the Berlin method of using LR and skimming for filtration, many people run an external canister filter with AC or orther chemical filtration. Just do not stick any filter pads or anything in the canister.

You can do Berlin style filtration with or without a DSB. DSBs are not "good" or "bad", they are just another way of doing things.

WELCOME TO AA :D

I am currently using the Berlin method for natural filtration. I have a FOWLR/invert tank, but will most likely lean over to a reef down the road. Here is the information I got before considering the Berlin:
No undergravel filter. This will create problems down the road with nitrates.
You will want between 1 - 1 1/2lbs of lr. The more the better.
You will want an excellent skimmer. You can't skimp on this one.
Since you have a 30G, you could setup a 10G sump to put the skimmer, heater, bio rock, etc. in.
You will also want at least 2 powerheads for water movement.