Hair Algae

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sparkchaser

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I've been battling Hair algae or Cyno for a few months now, At least that s what I think it is. It forms a crust on my sand bed, and every few days I have to stir, and break it up. I'm using RO water from the LFS. When I talked to them in Jan, about the problem, they said it was due to poor water movement, So I got 2 Peguin 550's. Now thats where I have the most hair algae, Right on the live rock, in the path of the power heads. I've added a PO4 remover, and still no luck.

This is what my setup has. 55 Gal, 50lbs LR, Mag 350 canister filter, bak Pak 2 skimmer w/ surface skimmer, and bubble trap, 2 550 power heads, 260 watt aqualight retrofit, and a 4 inch sandbed (sugar size). The tank stays around 80 degrees.
I feed a variety of foods, pro salts, pro pops, Ocean nutrition Formula 2 pellets, and sea weed selects. I feed every other day, and vary what I give the fish. I change 10 Gallons every 2 weeks with only RO water and Coral life salt

Here are my test results from today
Red Sea Test Kit
PH 8.0
Alk Normal
NO2 0
NO3 0
Ammo 0
Sea Test Kit
Cal 315
po4 0

I just bought the Sea test kit the other day, and I need to do something about the Cal being low, any recommendations?

I would like to start adding some corals, but I need to take control of the algae first. My tank has been setup since Oct 2003, so thats 7-8 months. I hope all this info can help someone get me in the right direction.