Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-02-2013, 02:57 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Sgc1107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: TN by way of NH
Posts: 406
Hair algae help!!

I have a bloom of hair algae that's getting worse & worse! I've not got a clue why it's blooming so well!

Amm: 0
Nitrates: 5.0
Nitrites: 0
Phos: 0
Feeding every 3 days
Skimmer working good

What is wrong? Corals & fish look amazing! I know it will take time but how of I get rid of it?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-577106898.jpg
Views:	144
Size:	208.1 KB
ID:	164450   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2717306439.jpg
Views:	150
Size:	159.6 KB
ID:	164452  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-748970810.jpg
Views:	146
Size:	175.7 KB
ID:	164453   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-416286046.jpg
Views:	140
Size:	172.3 KB
ID:	164454  

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3786185822.jpg
Views:	130
Size:	195.9 KB
ID:	164455  
__________________

__________________
Sgc1107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 03:05 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jaketit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 449
What kind of filtration???? And I would get a lawnmower blenny ASAP.
__________________

__________________
Jaketit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 03:14 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flaxon-Waxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NH
Posts: 2,788
Are you using tap water or RODI for your changes and top offs? What are your phosphates testing at?
__________________
Flaxon-Waxon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 04:18 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
chenzo9999's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: NYC
Posts: 279
Phos readings can be tricky. Phos can test zero if all of it is being used for algae growth.

To reduce phos added to the system: use RO/DI water for top-offs and salt prep, rinse thawed frozen food twice, stay away from most flake foods.

You can also use a reactor and run PhosBan.

But you need to pull out rock and scrub off hair algae. Doing it in tank may cause it to spread.
__________________
"At the age of six I wanted to be a cook. At seven I wanted to be Napoleon. And my ambition has been growing steadily ever since." - Salvador Dali
chenzo9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 04:25 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 59
You can syphon out the hair algae when you water change if you are careful. Turn off the power heads and scrap the algae as you suction. +++ on the RODI water too. We had it ten times worse and the water changes made a huge difference. More frequent with RODI and suction as much out as you can. Good luck. PhosBan is good too.
__________________
Wendy68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 05:28 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
What kind of lighting fixture you use, its power and for how long?
__________________
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 06:50 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Sgc1107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: TN by way of NH
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Benamayer View Post
Are you using tap water or RODI for your changes and top offs? What are your phosphates testing at?
RODI
Phos: 0
__________________
Sgc1107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 06:54 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Sgc1107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: TN by way of NH
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaketit View Post
What kind of filtration???? And I would get a lawnmower blenny ASAP.
Sump, skimmer, lr, chaeto

I've read it's a hit or miss fining something that will eat it! I've heard turbo snails, and emerald crabs are the favored ones I've seen but each one is different. Didn't know a lawnmower Benny would eat it.
__________________
Sgc1107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 07:45 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Jaketit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgc1107 View Post

Sump, skimmer, lr, chaeto

I've read it's a hit or miss fining something that will eat it! I've heard turbo snails, and emerald crabs are the favored ones I've seen but each one is different. Didn't know a lawnmower Benny would eat it.
I've tried emeralds and turbos with no success on algae. I had a fox face rabbit that destroyed it in a week but he eventually started picking at zoos, so I removed him. I then bought a lawnmower and that guy was nonstop ripping algae of rocks, he didn't eat anything but algae. After the hair algae was gone he ended up perishing, probably not enough food for him. Of corse getting a fish or invert to clean up algae is not the way to go but they help knock it down a bit until your cheato chokes it out. Don't overfeed and do your weekly water changes and it should subside quickly.
__________________
Jaketit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 07:53 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Godfrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Richmond, Illinois
Posts: 231
How long are your lights on and what do you have for lighting
__________________
Godfrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 08:46 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Sgc1107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: TN by way of NH
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Godfrey View Post
How long are your lights on and what do you have for lighting
T5's on for 12hr been this way for over a year so I'm not sure if this is the problem.
__________________
Sgc1107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 10:21 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Qube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Hagerstown, Md
Posts: 684
I would look into running some sort of GFO reactor like one from BRS, Phosban reactor, etc. I'm thinking you have a phosphate issue if the tank has been up and running for that long. As another poster already said, you are testing 0 on phosphates because the hair algae is taking it all in. Just my opinion though...
__________________
Qube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 10:51 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
cxAcan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 14
I had a similar problem, I changed my lighting schedule and upgraded a cleaning crew.. Emerald crabs lawn mower Benny, hermits you name it
__________________
cxAcan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 12:35 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Sgc1107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: TN by way of NH
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by cxAcan View Post
I had a similar problem, I changed my lighting schedule and upgraded a cleaning crew.. Emerald crabs lawn mower Benny, hermits you name it
Is that how you got rid of it? And have you ever have problems again?
__________________
Sgc1107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 12:36 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Sgc1107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: TN by way of NH
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qube View Post
I would look into running some sort of GFO reactor like one from BRS, Phosban reactor, etc. I'm thinking you have a phosphate issue if the tank has been up and running for that long. As another poster already said, you are testing 0 on phosphates because the hair algae is taking it all in. Just my opinion though...
Yes I didn't think about the phosphates reading 0 because the algae is absorbing it. Makes complete since!
__________________
Sgc1107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 01:37 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by cxAcan View Post
I had a similar problem, I changed my lighting schedule and upgraded a cleaning crew.. Emerald crabs lawn mower Benny, hermits you name it
I did exactly the same thing and it works. No more other algae except coraline. 10 turbo snails and 10 hermit crabs did a good job.
__________________
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 02:16 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Sgc1107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: TN by way of NH
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffaquarius View Post
I did exactly the same thing and it works. No more other algae except coraline. 10 turbo snails and 10 hermit crabs did a good job.
I have a bunch of hermits but only 1 turbo I've lost a few in the past, think no enough to eat! But I still need to figure out the source!
__________________
Sgc1107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 02:45 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jeffaquarius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 1,933
You might not have enough number of turbos to totally eradicate the hair algae in the first place. Now you have only 1 and that explains why hair algae came back. The source is when you introduce new stuff in your tank.
__________________
jeffaquarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 03:55 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Sgc1107's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: TN by way of NH
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffaquarius View Post
You might not have enough number of turbos to totally eradicate the hair algae in the first place. Now you have only 1 and that explains why hair algae came back. The source is when you introduce new stuff in your tank.
I've never had hair algae before. I use to have 3 turbos all but 1 died, think lack of food. That was 6 months ago. Guess this week ill pick up a couple and see if they can help me control it a bit!

Thanks for the help so far everyone!
__________________
Sgc1107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2013, 07:09 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Bray84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 533
Well I had red algae but now that's gone I'm getting hair algae and all test are good but feed my fish once aday and have cut back on light for now but I been told that u should pull it off the rocks b4 u do w/c as most cuc won't touch it if too long but down side to that is can take a lot of time if u got loads on rocks
__________________

__________________
Bray84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae, hair, hair algae

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.