Help me please

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Joe1987

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello to everyone I am a chef and at our restaurant we have had an aquarium installed to keep langoustines in but they keep dying! we are working with the man who installed it but he seems very unreliable and has not been able to come up with a solution as to what is happening if there is anyone who can help me with this please get in touch. many thanks joe

We can help but we need pictures of the setup and a lot more detail. Filtration??? Tank size??? Fish?? Number of fish? Aggression? Feeding? Water parameters?

Ok we'll thankyou for getting back to me I have no idea but I can get pics and find out what the tank is and stuff on Tuesday you will have to forgive me I'm a complete novice on this matter

+1 to what Crister said. (FYI langoustines are kind of like a European lobster. I was't 100% on this until I looked it up.). I don't know much of anything about them, but I'm sure they need cool water like their American cousins. Other than temp, their water requirements are going to be the same as for ornamental species.

Wikipedia did indicate that they are prone to some sort of dinoflagellate infection.

Last edited:
Oh... I had no idea what they were thanks haha. Lobsters are usually extremely hardy....... Must be something very wrong.

Joe

You may want to visit a fish store/aquarium supply store and buy a few test kits/supplies so you can give us water parameters etc. I am no expert but I'm guessing you want this worked out ASAP so plan to stop at a LFS (Local Fish Store) to purchase a few things before returning to work.

What should he get everyone? First I suggest the API brand salt water master test kit... Plus?

Ya a test kit.... Idk if those lobsters are fresh or salt though..... Im assuming salt because you said dinoflagellates.