How to cure my new live rock?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rnb62679

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi there, I am fairly new at this. I have read alot about how to cure live rocks before adding them to your tank. I have a 50gal tank with 4 chromis and a tang, I just purchased some live rock but do not know exactly what I need to do before adding it to my tank. Any advise will be helpful, thanks!

First off, you definitely do not want to put that uncured live rock in a tank with fish. The die-off will cause an ammonia spike which might kill your fish.

You're gonna want to put the rocks in a holding tank of some sort. It doesn't even really need to be a fish tank, just as long as it could hold your live rock and enough salt water to submerge it all.

You'll also want some circulation pumps if you can spare them. From my understanding they aren't a must, but they might help the process along by preventing the accumulation of dead spots.

Filtration doesn't need to be too fancy. A HOB filter would probably be sufficient, though if you had a canister that might be a little better. I think it's even possible to get away without even having a filter, not sure about that though. But if you do use a filter, you might want to run some carbon in it, as curing live rock can really smell.

The process can take anywhere from 2 weeks to a month or longer, depending on how "uncured" your rock is. Mine took about 3 weeks, but it stopped smelling after 2.

Oh, and I never did a water change while curing my live rock, but I was advised that I only had to if my ammonia skyrocketed (above 5 ppm), not sure about that though.

Good luck! Hope it doesn't smell too bad!