how to fight detritus on sand bed?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

edwardclaxton

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hey guys I have another question. How do you all fight detritus on your sand bed? I do siphon the top of my sand bed to keep it clean. I have pretty good water movement probably a little much. I dont have the powerheads pointing at the sand because it does make a mess. I do weekly water changes with rodi my meter says that I have 0.01 ppm in the out. I did buy new filters about to put them in. But what causes detritus to occur? To me it seems to pile up after water changes. And advice would be great. Thanks

I am no expert but sand sifting starfish, crabs and snails help. Also, there is a blenny that sifts the sand that helps.

Having good flow in your tank will prevent poop and food from settling on your sandbed. I've tried a variety of guys to sift through the sandbed.

I like nar sous snails and a conch, but I have a pretty established sandbed to keep them fed. I'd avoid a sand sifting starfish as they require so much food from the sandbed they usually always starve and die under the sand, you won't know where it's decamping and cause issues. Either way, they still poop and aren't a true solution to a problem.

How big of a tank? Some tangs such as orange shoulder or chevron ($$$) will eat detritus in addition to algae. So if yours is big enough for either then problem might be solved.

By far the best way is to keep enough flow in the tank that the detritus doesn't get a chance to sit on the sand bed and can be collected by mechanical filtration.

By far the best way is to keep enough flow in the tank that the detritus doesn't get a chance to sit on the sand bed and can be collected by mechanical filtration.