Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-08-2012, 11:03 PM   #121
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Syracuse
Posts: 1,156
I would deff scrape the algae off the back it will looks loads better

__________________
EriksFish315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 11:43 PM   #122
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
spoonman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbiesamp View Post
How do I find out how big a tank is
L x W x H/231= us gallons **length width and height are in inches**
spoonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 08:11 PM   #123
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Robbiesamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 707
Ok will do and to the other post what are you talking about
__________________
Robbiesamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 11:20 PM   #124
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Robbiesamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 707
Iv been thinking wont my tank over flow If the power goes out
I have a hang on the back over flow box
How can I change this and am I wrong
__________________
Robbiesamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 11:53 PM   #125
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Marquis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbiesamp
Iv been thinking wont my tank over flow If the power goes out
I have a hang on the back over flow box
How can I change this and am I wrong
my duel overflow box starts up after the power goes out but iv heard ppl say some will not
__________________
Marquis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 04:40 AM   #126
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 1,348
Ok, so here are the two dangerous moments of a power outage when dealing with HOB overflows.
First, when the power shuts off, the line from the pump to the display tank can reverse siphon and actually overflow the sump. Solution: Drill a small hole in the return line at where you want the water to stop draining if the pump shuts off. This will allow air into the line and break the siphon in the event of a power outtage.
Second, when power comes back on, if the siphon has been broken in the overflow box, the pump will simply fill the DT up until it overflows, and then burn itself out. This is where design and craftsmanship comes in. Is your HOB OVerflow box home made or purchased? I have an Eshopps and I've already tested it numerous times. Starts back up like a champ.

Third possibility. If the flow through the oveflow's U-Tube is not fast enough, air bubbles may build up in the bend and eventually break siphon, leading to the same result as the above paragraph. So periodically check your U-Tube to ensure there is no air collecting. If there is, it may need to be cleaned, or check for snails and whatnot slowing the water down.
__________________
Someone stop me! Please! But... not just yet...
55 Gal Tropical FW
55 Gal Mixed Reef
MacDracor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 10:04 AM   #127
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rdnelson99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,861
Attaching an air line to the top of the overflow and connecting that to the suction side of a power head or aqualifter will ensure that if the siphon was broken it will restart. Here is a video of the home made HOB Overflow I built. Has been working flawlessly for months. Just make sure that the top is painted black to keep light out. If light gets in, algae will grow and block the flow causing an overflow in the tank.

__________________
Since my tank is a birthday present to my wife, everything I spend going forward is just an extension of my love for her right?
rdnelson99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 11:27 AM   #128
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Robbiesamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 707
Would it just be better to install an over flow
__________________
Robbiesamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 12:00 PM   #129
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rdnelson99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbiesamp View Post
Would it just be better to install an over flow
If you mean drill the tank and make it reef ready than absolutely. But, if your tank is not drilled and already set up this is a good way to incorporate a sump. When I first started I had a canister filter because my tank was not drilled. I soon learned that I would be better off with a sump so I built the HOB overflow to accomplish this.
__________________
Since my tank is a birthday present to my wife, everything I spend going forward is just an extension of my love for her right?
rdnelson99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 02:15 PM   #130
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Robbiesamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 707
Wouldent it just be better and look better to do the drilling and everything
__________________
Robbiesamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 04:21 PM   #131
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
NanoReeferZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Edina MN
Posts: 32
Torch corals or a pistol shrimp and goby pair
__________________
NanoReeferZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 04:22 PM   #132
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
NanoReeferZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Edina MN
Posts: 32
Torch coral or a pistol shrimp and goby pair
__________________
NanoReeferZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 06:24 PM   #133
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Robbiesamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 707
I almost got a torch coral but I got somthing let's
__________________
Robbiesamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 06:43 PM   #134
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Robbiesamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 707
New coral I like it hop it spreads fast
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3466728853.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	168.0 KB
ID:	81924  
__________________
Robbiesamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 08:27 PM   #135
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Jakobe thunderz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbiesamp
How do I find out how big a tank is
What's the dimensions
__________________
Jakobe thunderz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2012, 08:37 PM   #136
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Robbiesamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 707
36 long
21 tall
12 wide bow front
__________________
Robbiesamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2012, 09:29 PM   #137
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Robbiesamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 707
So how do wave boxes work and what are the best kinds
__________________
Robbiesamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 06:01 AM   #138
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 1,348
Well, not sure exactly what you mean. There are powerheads with built in oscillators (the powerhead nozzle moves back and forth), there are water pressure powered devices that take one outlet and split it into two, then alternate which outlet gets flow, and there are electronic devices that turn pumps on and off at specified intervals.
Cheapest is probably the first (I have one from petco that cost me about $30). Second is really only viable if you have a sump plumbed so you actually have a strong return line.
The electronic device gives you the most freedom and flexibility, since it can control multiple pumps and you can set intervals.
But, it all comes down to preference and budget. Many people get along fine without any wave maker device.
__________________
Someone stop me! Please! But... not just yet...
55 Gal Tropical FW
55 Gal Mixed Reef
MacDracor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 10:07 AM   #139
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Robbiesamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 707
Yea I want one that's the last thing you said but do the others work good
__________________
Robbiesamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 03:17 PM   #140
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Syracuse
Posts: 1,156
Check out tunze wave boxes I've seen them and they seem to do a good job getting that random flow going.
__________________
EriksFish315 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
reef, reef tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I want something to make my 50 gall reef tank pop right now Robbiesamp Saltwater Reef Aquaria 147 04-01-2012 07:48 PM
New here. Need help with my gourami. Bearchumjs Member Introductions 100 02-26-2012 07:09 PM
new tank doing a fishless cycle - first time HeatherW Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 119 02-25-2012 05:40 PM
Is my betta dying of old age? shynepo3 Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 24 02-22-2012 11:52 PM
New fish tank Sernalex Cichlid Discussion 8 02-21-2012 04:59 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.