I'm a noob - typical questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JohnLocke

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello all,

I'm new to the forum and have set up my first saltwater aquarium. I have had a cichlid tank for a while, but finally needed to get myself two ocellaris clownfish.

I have not bought them yet, but the tank is set up and cycling right now. It is a 20g. This post might get long, so I apologize in advance and thanks to those enthusiastic and helpful members that answer them.

1.) I have very find sand for the bed, but every time I move it around the slightest bit it stirs up and causes an awful fog. In fact, I can hear the filter picking it up and getting stuck and grinding the fine particles. This is annoying and I'm worried that as I add live rock or other ornaments to the tank, it will keep doing this. If I have fish in there and need to move something, will it keep doing this and if so, will all that dust and sand being stirred up harm my clownfish?

2.) There is a lot of foamy build-up around the water line, sticking to the heater and filter and thermometer. It wipes off easy, but this seems unique to my saltwater tank. Never had this foamy stuff on the freshwater tank. Any comments on what this is, how to get it to go away, and what it means? I'm cycling my 20g with two shrimp right now that are about 50% completely rotted away...maybe that has something to do with it.