just wanting to start

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jjamontan

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I am very new to this. My first question to all of you is as follows. Is it ok to buy used equipment? I want to start off slow and buy a tank, stand and go from there

Check my post, everything I had was second hand or made my self and I think it turned out great. Just be carefull with lr from another tank it may come with pests.

image-966026950.jpg

Well I guess o need to be more specific, I am going to buy a used tank and used stand etc. I want to start with nothing other than equipment. I want to take my time and spend months building up and get ready for fish and more important coral. I don't want to use live rock. I want it to be only things I can do on my own, is that a bad idea?

Hi there and welcome to AA!

As for buying used items, it's definitely OK. Make sure you inspect the tank and stand before you purchase your items. For tanks specifically, inspect the braces as they are structural and not just for looks in larger tanks. Be wary of folks who use Vaseline to make scratches disappear in the tanks they're trying to sell off.

If you're going for a reef tank with corals, you really should use Live Rock. LR + circulation is the best filtration for reef tanks.

Check out the articles on AA in regards to starting off your tank:
Aquarium Advice

Thank you for your advice I am looking forward to getting started. I am going to buy a tank and parts soon. I am not going to try to hurry anything, and buy things without a plan on place so looking ahead it may be 3 months before I start to cycle a tank

Yup, no problem. Take your time planning your build. Looking forward to seeing your progression!

This sight is to cool all of you are so passionate about this and willing to help how can we fail?