Kaudern's cardinal fish died

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

firewrangler81

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Both of my cardinals died today, water is perfect according to my lfs. Have a 90 gallon tank with 2 clowns, yellow tang, and tiger striped sea star, snails and hermits.

They were added on Friday same time the yellow tang and sea star were added, it's been running for about a month now. My dealer won't sell fish without a water sample, took another sample to him today after I found them floating and he said the water is perfect. Been feeding only flake food and haven't seen them eat at all. I'm new to saltwater reef aquariums, had fresh water for many years and didn't think it was unusual not to see them eat.

I would definitely suggest buying a test kit and testing your own water. My cardinals eat anything but I would suggest a frozen food, mysis or brine shrimp to get them going...

How did you add them? Might of had a spike as your tank is still new and you added quite a lot at same time.

How did you add them? Might of had a spike as your tank is still new and you added quite a lot at same time.
Let them float for 15 minutes and put them in, none of the water from the bag went into my tank, my lfs advised against drip acclimation method. Yellow tang, clowns and serpent sea star were all added the same way with no stress at all.

Don't even think 15 mins would match the temp. Did you not add water from your tank to the bag, did you ask why he's against the drip method as never heard that before. Maybe the shock of big change killed them?

He says that the fish build up a lot of toxins in the bag and it's best to get the fish out of it as soon as possible, not to quarantine because then you're shocking your fish twice.