Keeping Powdered Blue Tang

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dr. Dai Phan

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hello all,

I have a 125 reef tank that has been running for 3 months now. I have a sump/refugium, protein skimmer and media reactor. At this time, eveything seems to be thriving with the corals,zoos, mushrooms expanding as well as coralline algae booming. I have a golden wrasse, 2 tomato clowns, one fox face, one yellow tang and 2 cardinals. I have always love the PBT and I would like to know if that fish is reserved only for advanced aquarist (I am a beginner) or it will fight with the YT. I would like to know before I pluck down 100 bucks. Nitrate=almost zero with Nitrite=0, Ph=8.2, ammonia =0, Ca =420. I have T-5 lights and two powerheads. Thanks Dai Phan

All tangs seem to be succeptible to cryptocaryon "ich" and a PBT is no exception so expect an infestation, which means hyposalinity in a quarantine tank. I would begin hypo within the first week and deworm. Quarantine should last at least 30 days. I personally do not believe this is an "advanced" animal to care for as long as you quarantine thoroughly. Once it attains reasonable size it will dominate the tank. I would not purchase this animal until your tank is at least 6 months - 1 year old and depending on your personal experience in fish keeping.

Honestly I would wait a little longer and let your tank become even more established. An established tank will only increase the chance of successfully keep the beautiful PBT! I understand the draw to those fish, they are one of my favorites!

8-OWhat's up Rev? Nice to see you lurking around David!;)

All great advice. The PBT can be a pretty difficult fish to keep for the reasons mentioned. I suggest waiting until your tank has matured a bit and making sure you are well-rehersed in the arts of the QT tank. IMHO, it is a must for this fish.