MACNA XVII Day 1

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fishfreek

Aquarium Advice Addict
Well here I am at Macna. This is my first time at such an event and its very cool... So far I have only meet up with Fluff and Devilishturtles. So if there are other AA members here please introduce yourselves. I am one of the ones doing the AV.

Below I will try to summarize as best I can the speakers and topics that where covered.

This years MACNA is all about education and conservation within the hobby. Today we got to hear from what I would consiter very high profile speakers and today was just a taste of what is to come tommorow and Sunday morning.

We started out the afternoon with Timothy R.E. Kenney. Timothy is the Cairman for the Coral Reef Taskforce. For those whom are unfimular with the CRTF you can obtin information as to what their purpose is by visiting http://www.coralreef.gov/ Here is a breif snip from their webpage

In June 1998, the U.S. Coral Reef Task Force (USCRTF) was established by Presidential Executive Order 13089. Our mission is to lead, coordinate, and strengthen U.S. government actions to better preserve and protect coral reef ecosystems.

After Timothy spoke Walt Smith (thats right the same Walt Smith that imports live rock and corals from Fiji) showed some photos from last years MACNA FIJI trip winners. The total price for this trip is valued at $10,000. One set of lucky attendiees at this years MACNA will also win the very same trip. It was so cool seeing photos from the winners trip. The pics that they took while they toured Walt Smith's coral farm, the photos from the numberious dive trips they where able to enjoy. Cleary this was a trip of a life time.