Mandarin advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LaWoWee

Aquarium Advice Freak
Im new to keeping Mandarin dragonets. I bought a female 3 weeks ago and it is doing well and eating mysis and pods. I also started keeping chaeto in a net breeder for that reason a week ago. Shook the breeder yesterday and crap load of pods came out. Since i have a good pod population growing, i want to add a male mandarin. If i add one, will they be okay together? Will they pair or fight?

What size tank? One can.consume all the pods in a short time two would be kinda risky..

I have a 40 gallon. Shouldnt i be okay if i have pods populating in my chaeto? The one i have currently gets fat off of mysis.

If you dont mind, what did you have to do for the small net breeder w/ chaeto? Is it as simple as I think, place fishnet in tank w/ chaeto let pods migrate to that spot? I am interested in keeping a mandarin down the line as well which is why I ask. Pics if possible? Thanks!

it's not as easy as it sounds matching up mandarins is a hit or miss either they will get along or fight till the death

One can.consume all the pods in a short time two would be kinda risky..
This needs to be considered

not only will the mandarins consume the pods so will all the other fish in your tank

I add 3000+ every other day to maintain pod population in my main tank
most fish not only mandarins will consume a well populated tank with pods in 1/2 days

you must be able to breed pods in mass quantity's or it's a loosing battle

I use a 30gal long breeder divided into 3 sections for raising pods , mysiss , and brine shrimp

you must also plump them up with good nutrients like phyco pure copepod blend

this will ensure your fish stay healthy with well needed nutrients