Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-25-2005, 06:39 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 358
*Maxima Clam Blue Taking Care Of?*

I have a 55gal. 260Watt Power Compact, Live sand 4in DSB, Clownfish, Firefish, snails, crabs, Feather Duster, Anenome, 2 Leather Corals, Red Sun polyp, assorted polyps, Wet/Dry filter, Protein Skimmer. I have the Liquid Plankton and also frozen plankton and brine shrimp. I was wondering what can I do to keep my 8" Maxima clam stay healthy?Thanks
__________________

__________________
xxnonamexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2005, 12:19 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 730
WoW!! 8" maxima. That's huge. you got a pic? I didn't know that they can get that big.

Since your clam is huge and more dependent on needing light it would best placed as close as possible to your lights. PC doesn't have the penetrating depth as MH. They don't like too much flow. The other thing that can be done is upgrade to MH, this IMO is very important and as always having the correct water chemestry.
__________________

__________________
Paintballs look like bubble gum
14G starphire,150W MH+32W act03,AquaClear 150 HOB filter, 75W EboJager, IceProbe chiller, Remora skimmer, closed loop SCWD mag5, auto toper-offer.
https://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...lam/banner.jpg
klam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2005, 12:12 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 358
I will snap a pic of it a lil later. Doesn't look like I will be upgrading the lighting. I have the PC 260watts. Adding moonlights this week. Clam is in middle on tank on bottom.
__________________
xxnonamexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2005, 12:16 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: edmonton
Posts: 685
how long have you had your clam?
__________________
Edmonton Eskimo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2005, 05:14 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 358
My Clam

I have had it for 3 days now


http://www.flickr.com/photos/59422509@N00/
__________________
xxnonamexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2005, 07:31 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
lando's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 7,889
This species of clam is really more of a rock dweller. Try placing it on the rock work in a secure place that is big enough for it to expand. These clams really do requre pretty intense light, but it can be kept under CF lighting as well, longevity will be less. Moving it up toward the top will really help. They are filter feeders. I recommend using DT's live plankton to feed it.
__________________
Some people are like slinkies...they serve no real purpose yet can still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs!:p
Have a great day! Brian
lando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2005, 07:42 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 358
I have frozen plankton, brine shrimp, and liquid plankton. When I purchased it the store owner had it in the sand of his tank. Are you positive that it can go on a rock?? I don't want to ruin it? Thanks
__________________
xxnonamexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2005, 09:37 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 72
Send a message via AIM to Snoopybdb
the maxima clam i bought was on a sand base and i put it on a rock in my tank to put it close to the light and it attached to it just fine.
__________________
Snoopybdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2005, 09:45 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 358
Since it is in the sand now will it be ok to move it? I read it should be kept close to the light since I have Power Compacts but touching/moving it can ruin some part of them. What should I do? It is in the middle of my tank nothing is blocking it 260watts straight down on it moonlights coming this week. water flow is minimal since it is on the bottom. I read about not getting food caught in it? but I am sure some food will slip in it. Someone else said not good to have stuff floating in the tank. I have a protein skimmer it is very clean, but when I clean the sponges on the filters some things tend to float.
__________________
xxnonamexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2005, 09:49 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 358
I am searching for a spot and I see a spot on a rock that is past the filter, skimmer, so there should def be more light, little water flow,
__________________
xxnonamexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2005, 09:49 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 72
Send a message via AIM to Snoopybdb
i just slowing working on getting mine to "let go" of the bottom. when you first start to touch it, it should close up some and then the bottom suction part will start to close as you try to get it up. just work slowly and don't force it. i had to move mine again(moved the tank) since putting it on the rock and it's ok.
__________________
Snoopybdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2005, 11:03 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 72
Send a message via AIM to Snoopybdb
hope this works...here's some pics of my tank...there are a couple you can see the clam in.



http://www.flickr.com/photos/38103679@N00/?saved=1
__________________
Snoopybdb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2005, 11:19 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 358
Nice PIX I need to get a digital Camera to take better pix to show my full tank. The pulsing xenia have you had alot of maintenance with it or is it easy to take care of? Tomorrow I will be moving my clam to a higher elevation. I hope it is higher since from reading I hear about nothing goin in it like floating stuff, food. I will be adding moonlights this wednesday can't wait. The clam must be positioned up correct? Mysand bed is a mix of fine live sand and crushed coral. I hope it is easy to take this clam out of the sand. The guy in the shop it looked like it was an easy time pulling him up. Is it true that they keep Nitrate levels down? I heard that the Nitrate's stay on the bottom?
__________________
xxnonamexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2005, 01:14 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
Ya when I got mine, I placed it on the sand. I then found out it needed to be on rock and high up in the tank due to my lighting. (460w CF on a 75g)

It was trying to attach and had dug down a good way, but it came up pretty easy. I placed it on a medium size flat rock, then placed that rock up top of the tank. The clam attached in like a day or two and has done great ever since. I guess its doing well since it has had no color loss.

Here is a pic of mine when I first got it and now:


You can see the clam at the top/middle of the tank. Sorry for the dirty tank...

__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2005, 12:43 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 358
Here are a few more pics of my tank with the blue light on B4 the whites turn on and clam is moved.


http://www.flickr.com/photos/59422509@N00/
__________________
xxnonamexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2005, 01:02 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 358
Full LIGHTING

FULL LIGHTING


http://www.flickr.com/photos/59422509@N00/
__________________
xxnonamexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2005, 11:28 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 730
Revhtree - nice crocea clam. Yep, crocea do better in rock because over time they will bore out a hole so they can fit inside the rockfor better protection.

Maximas will be fine on the sand bed as long as the lighting requirment is met.

A quick way to tell the difference between crocea and maximas is by looking at their scutes(sp?). Maximas scutes will extend further out than crocea.
__________________

__________________
Paintballs look like bubble gum
14G starphire,150W MH+32W act03,AquaClear 150 HOB filter, 75W EboJager, IceProbe chiller, Remora skimmer, closed loop SCWD mag5, auto toper-offer.
https://img.photobucket.com/albums/v1...lam/banner.jpg
klam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
clam

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Maxima Clam Need Help tntfish Saltwater Reef Aquaria 16 02-17-2010 07:53 PM
German Blue rams, and taking care of their eggs/fry Jarred Darque Cichlid Discussion 3 03-25-2006 02:22 PM
Peppermint Shrimp Having Maxima Clam for Lunch?? xxnonamexx Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 7 11-12-2005 06:32 PM
Maxima clam was eaten by Sally Lightfoots! runway1 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 07-18-2005 02:33 PM
Sick Maxima Clam Poisson Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 5 03-01-2005 10:40 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.