My fish wont eat!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

XxVooDooxX

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Ok, I am very new to salt water, I'm starting a live rock/reef tank. I am going very slow and only have 1 anemone that I bought paired with a clown. I also have a mandarin goby which I was told was a "great starter fish!" after doing my homework I now know this could not be further from the truth. My tank is healthy, salinity is perfect with no toxins in the water. I added the clown and it's anemone friend today and have had the goby for a week. I haven't seen the goby eat! Will she starve?!? Is she nocturnal? Please help!

Yes the goby will starve you would have to attempt to get it to eat prepared food but good luck with that. I highly suggest bringing it back to the LFS for store credit because most likely it will starve to death in your tank.

That truly makes me sad. It's such a pretty fish but I don't want it to die! Could you recommend a good starter besides the clown?

Always best to make sure you watch the fish eat at the LFS. That way you know he is eating but let`s figure this out. A mandarin is a very finnicky eater. They only eat pods unless trained to eat prepared foods. Maybe you can get some pods in a bottle from your LFS. These fish need a very mature tank with lots of LR so to keep a large amount of pods on hand. Most of these fish starve to death since most tanks dont have an adequate supply of pods. Your LFS didnt help you out on that one. He should not have sold you the anenome as they need mature tanks of at least one year. As far as the mandarin try feeding frozen mysis shrimp or some vitamin fortified brine shrimp. Sorry to be the bearer of bad news. Maybe there is another LFS around that might be able to give you better advice.