Natural seawater?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

erichm20

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Does anyone use natural seawater for water changes? I mean it is the water in the ocean that I am trying to recreate anyway right? So why not just get my water from the ocean? I live about 10 mins from the beach.

Many people do, but I personally wouldn't. Too many unknowns and potential contaminants IMO. If you know your baseline, everything is easier.

HN1 said:
Many people do, but I personally wouldn't. Too many unknowns and potential contaminants IMO. If you know your baseline, everything is easier.

+1 you never know what may have been dumped right up the beach and not all locations yield the same quality water. Some don't even have the same salinity.

I have been using NSW for a about 2 months prior to Hurricane Sandy. I was getting nice color and polyp extension. I'm gonna wait another week before I collect again for water changes.

I don't see why not because the lfs sells ocean water but they bring that water in from offshore (so they say) lol

I only use ocean water if you know your area and the water is clean it's fine. the lfs here use it and sell it. Incoming high tide and check the salinity usually runs about .28 here. I cut it with some ro. No problems.

I had asked this question years ago and one of the answers I received was, you should go out at least a half mile or so and get you water so you would get less contaminants from run off or sewage or anything else. But if you are on an island some where in the South Pacific...it might be ok. Lol

I was under the impression ocean water sold by most LFS has been filtered, and uv treated before bring distributed. Personally if I ever used natural seawater collected myself I would do the same before adding it.