Needing big help to start 55gal saltwater tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

underthesealover

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi! I just joined this site tonight after reading the forums going on here for more than a week now. I purchased a 55 gal tank and wanted to have a saltwater stuff on it like fish, live corals and rocks. Please help me on what I should really buy to get it starting. Based on what I been researching I will be needing a wet-dry filter but then some of the threads I have read says don't bother about the filter and I will just need a sump and skimmer if I intend to have live rock? I am new in all of this but since I was a kid I really wanted to have saltwater aquarium for me to at least experience how the under the water world looks like in a tank since i don't know how to swim. I really need all the help I can get and hopefully I can get an advice even what brand and what those equipment meant to my tank etc since I literally doesn't know anything! Please help me I don't want to end up buying things that I won't need and find best deals for the stuff I will be needing to get my tank going, I just really wanted to fulfill my childhood dream to keep an under the world scenes and creatures right within my sight anytime I wanted to look at them and promise I will take good care of all the living things I will be getting and thank you in advance for all the help I might be getting.

you don't need a wet dry filter or a skimmer to start. I ran my first 55 wiithout either for almost a year. live rock is a must. (75-85 lbs) a couple of good powerheads (korilia 2's or 3's), daily nitrate and ph tests and weekly or biweekly 20% water changes will get you going in fish only tank. ya need a skimmer HOB ok and perfect water for corals.