Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-05-2004, 06:58 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 754
OK..what's a SCWD?

__________________

__________________
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2004, 07:02 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 2,724
I'm not sure exaclty what it is, but it is something you put at the end of your PH which periodically changes the waterflow to create turbulence.
__________________

RogerMcAllen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2004, 07:07 PM   #3
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
Posts: 1,783
checkout www.3iqventures.com watch the video and you will see exactly what it is!
__________________
captivereefs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2004, 08:03 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Temecula CA
Posts: 34
No worries guys I asked myself that same question. A SCWD is known also as a SQUID. Its a type of plumbing that kinda works like a wave maker. Its pretty much hooked up to your pump. The water is spit from the pump into hosing. It travels half the distance to ur tank and enter the SCWD. The SCWD has 2 other hoses connected to it leading to two seperate flanges (drainage into your tank). The benifit of this is that both of ur flanges are not fed water at the same time. Pressure builds up in the chamber causing it to switch from one flange to the other. In my set up it switches every 22 seconds. So one sec its putting water on one end of the tank and 22 sec later it goes to the other end. It pretty much helps out circulation in ur tank.

Pro's
Its a cheap way to have a wave maker.
Circulation
No electricity is involved.
If your satisfied with its circulation like I am you don't need a power head in the main tank.

Con's
A little extra plumming at start (but its easy)
Due to gravity you lose some gph so you may need to upgrade or get a stronger pump.
You'll open the box and see the thing and say "I paid 30-40 bucks for this thing?" but its well worth it! GL
__________________
mrcowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 06:34 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Omicron Persia 8
Posts: 693
Yep, it looks cheap. But you don't really feel ripped off until you pick it up. Feels waaaay cheap. But it works good.
__________________
indy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 09:22 AM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Its built fine. Its a plastic exterior and im not sure how the inside it built but baistly ther is an impeller that rotates with water current and moves to close off one side and then alternates to close of the other side while opening the previously closed side.

Here are a few photos of my SCWD manafold before instaling it. As you can see you have teh supply comming from the bottom and then the two returns going out from either side. You have to use tubing to connect the SCWD to the plumbing but I then converted it to PVC for ease of plumbing after that. I used 3/4" tubing and plumbing.





__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 10:21 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
Do you guys use this set up for the return from your sump?
__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 10:32 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,833
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
I have one on my tank and it works like a charm.
Rev, you use it on your return pump. Single hose from the pump, the SCWD splits it in 2 like in FF picture. I have one return in each corner of the tanks pointing to the middle. In my setup it is really nice, all the plumbing is incorporated within my overflows. Can't see the plumbing at all. Strong flow too.
__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 10:43 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Yes I do use it that way. You can also use it in a closed loop fashon.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 10:44 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
What if you loose power? What about loosing your water on the floor?
__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 10:46 AM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Having the SCWD in the system doesnt change anything in that respect. Its just an easy way to have water be divereted automaticly between to outlets.

You still need syphon breaks on the return lines and you still need to run your sump low enough that it can hold any backflow when a pump is powered down.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 10:52 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
Ok, I got it. You can drill a hole in both the PVC returns just above the water level right?
__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 10:55 AM   #13
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Yes.

Now just to make sure everyone is following along. You are not going to drill a hole in the SCWD! You would drill small holes just above/below the water line on the acutal PVC returns that are inside the tank that is attached to the SCWD. In my photos for example I have small 1/8" holes drilled in the short 3/4" stright section of PVC that is connected to the final 90* elbow that acutal outputs the water.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 11:00 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
I dont know why I was having such a problem with that!

Thanks All!
__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 11:04 AM   #15
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,833
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
Quote:
You are not going to drill a hole in the SCWD
LOL, that would be messy.
__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 11:07 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
revhtree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rossville. Ga
Posts: 4,500
A little off topic, but how far under the main water level do you guys have your return water coming in?
__________________
Remember to Keep Christ First!
revhtree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 11:51 AM   #17
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,833
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
I have built in overflows, so in my system its kinda set. About 3" under the surface.
__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 08:23 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 754
That is really cool. I'm very glad I asked what that was. I could use this. My only problem is using flex tubing connections makes for a lot of silly plumbing work as I'll have to modify my 1/2" PVC return.

I've never seen them for sale. Who is supplying these?
__________________
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 08:28 PM   #19
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Quote:
I've never seen them for sale. Who is supplying these?
Just about any online retiler will have them. I would of course suggest checking our sponsors first.

It wont be hard modifying the 1/2" return. Just get a 1/2 - 3/4" pvc adaptor and then a 3/4" pvc - barbed hose connector. Then slip on your tubing and into the scwd. Use some nice hose clams to secure the tubing. Then do the reverse for the two returns. I would use 3/4" though for the returns vs sizing back to 1/2".
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2004, 08:53 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: British Columbia
Posts: 754
I'll consider changing to 3/4"

Does the SQWD have to be mounted vertically, like your photo?...or will it work if mounted horizontally?
__________________

__________________
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
scwd output greatgman General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 09-11-2005 08:59 PM
scwd necessary? pufferman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 07-14-2005 09:33 PM
the scwd iwantareef16 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 02-25-2005 11:51 PM
SCWD steve r Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 01-06-2005 08:02 PM
SCWD Salt4Us Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 04-25-2003 08:54 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.