Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-18-2004, 12:47 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 35
overflow questions

2 questions... first, i recently set up a cpr overflow. I recently read some bad reviews on these...can anyone be more specific on what to watch for.

Also, has anyone tried to put a sponge filter in the opening in the tank. It would keep critters out and also keep the box clean. My concern is that it may reduce the flow into the box. Any help?

Thanks
__________________

__________________
do or do not, there is no try
gallagherjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 01:03 PM   #2
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
Posts: 1,783
Problem is is that air can collect in the elbow of the overflow. You need to connect up a powerhead like a rio 800 RVT to suck the air out.There should be an air fitting on the top of the overflow elbow. If to much air is allowed to collect the siphon wil break and the overflow will stop working.
__________________

__________________
captivereefs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 01:04 PM   #3
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
Posts: 1,783
And do not put a sponge in the overflow box. It cabn cause decreased flow and siphon failure. Only use the sponges that come with the overflow.
__________________
captivereefs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 01:06 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 35
thanks, have this in place already, any advice on putting a sponge type prefilter in the box. When i feed the guys, some food gets sucked into the overflow and then just sits in there... this can't be good.
__________________
do or do not, there is no try
gallagherjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 01:08 PM   #5
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
Posts: 1,783
You can always shut the main pump off for feeding. I would strongly caution you not to put anything in the prefilter box to catch debris; that is a good way to empty your sump onto the floor if the flow through the box is reduced.
__________________
captivereefs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2004, 01:17 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 35
will do.....already had a sump leak (30 gal overnight) not ready for that clean up again. thanks
__________________
do or do not, there is no try
gallagherjim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2004, 11:26 PM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
Two points I'd like to make. First, if you shut off the main pump to feed, shut off the PH that is attached to the overflow as well. It can eventually empty the box and break the siphon...not a big deal as long as you notice it. But, if you didn't notice it and turned the pump back on...water on the floor. Second, and I think this is the first time I haven't agreed with Darin about something, I would not trust a Rio pump/powerhead for anything. I wouldn't use anything but a Maxi Jet 1200 on that overflow. It has enough flow to restart the siphon by itself and is one of the most reliable PH's available. If you need reliability anywhere, you need it on the overflow. JMHO.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2004, 12:51 AM   #8
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
Posts: 1,783
The maxi is definately better. But on the CPR overflows the pump actually helps start the siphon so leaving it on should not hurt anyting. The iinstructions that come with the overflow actually tell you to start the siphon by letting the pump run. There is water on both sides of the elbow so it willl act like a vaccum sucking all the air out and drawing in water.
__________________
captivereefs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2004, 01:01 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
I should point out, and I'm not trying to be difficult, that the very action of starting the siphon is what will eventually empty the box. When you shut off the main pump, the water level in the tank will drop until water is no longer flowing into the internal box. At that point, if the powerhead is still running, it will slowly draw water out of the U tube through its venturi until either the main circulation pump is restarted or the water in the overflow box runs out. At that point the siphon breaks. The PH won't restart the siphon before the main pump runs the tank over...unless you have a relatively small pump. Yes...I learned this the hard way .
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2004, 01:17 AM   #10
member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: WI
Posts: 1,783
No sweat, did'nt think you were trying to be difficult! Different opinions are what make the boards so informative!
__________________
captivereefs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2004, 12:25 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Quincy, MA
Posts: 198
Send a message via AIM to nguyen27 Send a message via Yahoo to nguyen27
I think LoganJ and CaptivedReef need to settle this in real life, bring all your merchandise out and let see who sell the stuff cheaper? We will be the judge for that!!!
__________________
nguyen27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2004, 12:40 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Fremont, CA
Posts: 128
I used to use an AquaClear 401 on my overflow, and it never drained. I know most people do not like AC powerheads, but ive used them for 10+ years and loved them. Ive actually left it off for hours and never drained it. The air intake is just strong enough to pull the air out, but kinda gives up when it starts pulling water. I now have a aqualifter pump on the overflow because i use a closed loop.
__________________

__________________
55g Reef
100 lbs. LR
70 lbs. LS
48" Aqualight Pro
Gen X Mak4 Closed Loop
LPS, SPS, whatever else.....
------------------------
40g Tru-Vu
40 lbs Tonga
40 lbs Sand
T-5 Retro-2x39
SEIO 620
Frags, Fish, Mantis, Whatever
Crawling68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flow, overflow

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Overflow questions caldwellfam1 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 21 06-16-2006 02:23 AM
Overflow/Sump Questions.... IworkatPSP General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 01-09-2006 11:11 PM
Overflow Box Questions qhrisnd Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 08-29-2005 04:53 PM
Overflow questions aznbob Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 07-09-2005 11:07 PM
Overflow box questions rossmort Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 02-20-2004 05:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.