Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-06-2011, 08:09 AM   #21
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
You got a powerhead in there moving that water around, right?

__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2011, 10:36 AM   #22
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
uscamaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 861
yea, I didn't have it in there because I wanted a clear shot of the rocks
__________________
-Patrick

uscamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 03:57 AM   #23
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
uscamaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 861
My RO/DI came in today! I got it for $140 from Filter Direct on Ebay, I can't wait to hook it up. It's 100gpd.

(Jan 11, 2011)



Everything looks really clean and professional; it even came with a pressure gauge.

(Jan 11, 2011)




I have a TDS meter coming in next week, so I'll let you know the performance. So far, Filter Direct is one of the top companies on Ebay that I've worked with.


Also, some livesand from Drs. F&S came in as well; this should finish off my sandbed (100lbs).

__________________
-Patrick

uscamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 10:09 AM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
cabezon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 1,010
Wow 100gpd? You can change your water twice a day. Lol. Are you going to get a large container to store the RO, and to mix SW? Hint hint.
I don't like to run the filter at just a trickle, like some do with the ato. You will get a longer life out of your membrane and DI if you run larger volumes all at once. I like to fill my 5 gallon jugs for drinking from the tap I have before the DI resin first,then fill my RO tub, and salt mix brute can all at once. Google tds creep. Make sure you recycle your waste water somehow, like for your pool or garden. I am sure wasting water is a huge nono,in Vegas.
__________________
Fishless cycling
cabezon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 04:02 AM   #25
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
uscamaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 861
I already picked up a 13gallon trashcan with a full-size lid. Inside I will keep a powerhead and a heater with the saltwater mixed in already. As for the waste water, I'm not sure what I'm going to do. Since the house is new, I have nothing in the back yard, and the front yard has drought tolerant plants. I'll probably end up turning off my sprinkler system and watering them individually.

I've read too many reasons why not to keep an auto-top-off, so I'm sticking with the large pre-mixed bin.
__________________
-Patrick

uscamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 04:40 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
well, i like the jbj ATO's. they have redundant switches on them so your system is safe.
believe me when i tell you that being without an ATO is a real nuisance.
i would never be without one.

i have a feeling many of those folks you heard complaining about ATOs were the ones who skimped and did a lot of DIY stuff.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2011, 05:16 PM   #27
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
I too think the JBJ is good. Never had a problem with it.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 07:59 AM   #28
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
uscamaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 861
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
i have a feeling many of those folks you heard complaining about ATOs were the ones who skimped and did a lot of DIY stuff.

Pretty much 90% of the lengthy bad reviews were from DIY
__________________
-Patrick

uscamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 08:45 AM   #29
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
cabezon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Tampa FL
Posts: 1,010
I think the ATO that is recommended is one from the RO resevoir and not directly from the output of the filter.
__________________
Fishless cycling
cabezon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 07:32 AM   #30
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
uscamaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 861
I started the big move with my LR in 3 different places to their final resting places. First, I filled a new 13g trash bin with water and salt and left my water pump in there to keep it aerated.

(Jan 15, 2011)



I then started to drain about 50% of the water from the tank and added the sand.





Next, I took the LR from the main tank to the garage with the other pieces; giving them a good final scrub. After that I began bringing the rocks inside to the tank.


__________________
-Patrick

uscamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 07:43 AM   #31
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
uscamaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 861
I didn't take any pictures of it, but while I let the sand settle I cleaned out my wet/dry filter with a shop-vac. I had a few smaller pieces of LR in the filter which got it filthy with sand and rock rubble. The shop-vac worked amazing, getting the residual water, sand, and rocks clear out of there.

After over 4 hours of work, I wanted to setup the LR in the tank, but I couldn't see anything because of the murky water

(Jan 15, 2011)



Also, I bought 2 clay-glue-sticks from the "Drs." because I figured they were about the size of a pencil... I was WAY wrong! I read how many ounces it was on the site, but I had no idea there was so much. An empty gallon milk jug was the closest thing I had for a size comparison.

__________________
-Patrick

uscamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 07:57 AM   #32
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
uscamaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 861
The dust finally settled; I am so happy how it turned out! When I was moving things around the dust kicked back up making it very hard to see where I was putting the rocks. I left it overnight and was amazed at how many caves there were after it cleared up.

(Jan 16, 2011)



My fiance preferred the blue background, but I'm partial to the black. I didn't tape it down so we can flip it later.

(Jan 17, 2011)




Here's a good shot from the left side:
__________________
-Patrick

uscamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 10:04 AM   #33
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
looking good.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 11:32 PM   #34
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
I'm betting you're gonna wanna clean the side glass after a while. Room for a hand and scraper will do.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 04:43 AM   #35
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
uscamaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 861
Quote:
Originally Posted by austinsdad View Post
I'm betting you're gonna wanna clean the side glass after a while. Room for a hand and scraper will do.

My mag-float fits perfectly behind the LR on the left side (that faces the room). I'm not sure if I want to keep scraping the back/right side of the glass or just let the coraline grow.
__________________
-Patrick

uscamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 07:18 AM   #36
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
uscamaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 861
Fish are here! I received a 30gal CUC, 2 Percula Clown, and 1 Yellowhead Jawfish. So it's been a few days but I wanted to make sure that the fish were going to make it. I got them through LiveAquaria.com and I was very impressed with the packaging. I tried to stay up and wait for the delivery but I ended up falling asleep, and woke up to them waiting outside (thankfully the temperature that day was 74°F). They were packed snug and even had a heat pack on top of them.

Before I opened the box, I setup my acclimation chambers in front of the tank. A bucket for each fish and the last for the CUC. Then I cut a 25ft airline tube into 4 pieces and tied a knot at the end to regulate the flow. I had I kept the bar lights on really low while I acclimated the fish (only lights in the room).

(Jan 19, 2011)




I did just as the instructions, um... instructed. The whole acclimation process, from floating them in the water to putting them into the tank took about 2 hours; which was about 7pm.

The snails/hermit crabs and clown fish took right off looking around the buckets and seemed excited once in the tank. However, the Jawfish looked almost dead in the bucket and was curled up like a horseshoe, which made me nervous. He was the last member added to the tank and when I tried to catch him he swam furiously away from the cup (which made me feel better because he felt strong and healthy, just didn't look it). When I placed him into the tank he stayed in his "horseshoe" form and just floated into the back corner of the tank.
__________________
-Patrick

uscamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 07:28 AM   #37
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
uscamaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 861
Next morning comes and everyone is happy, except I can't find the Jawfish! I seriously looked all over the tank, using the reflection from the glass to see on the other side of the liverock and he's nowhere to be found... seriously. Some of you may have noticed I made a panic post because I couldn't see him anywhere. Well I give him a few more hours with the lights on and sure enough he pokes out from under my largest piece of LR (almost 20lbs). I thought he moved around too much under a piece and it shifted on top of him.

What an awesome fish. I watched him build his little cave, spitting out mouthfuls of sand and moving a few pieces of rock to support his den. This fish has so much personality, moving his head around at anything that moves in his area.

(Jan 21, 2011)
__________________
-Patrick

uscamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 07:31 AM   #38
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
uscamaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 861
I am happy to report all animals are happy and in great condition. Everyone is eating, the Clowns are swimming together, and I even watched the Jawfish wander to the complete other side of the tank. I know this picture isn't the best, but I tried to get a shot of them together (obviously not all the snails and hermits).

(Jan 21, 2011)
__________________
-Patrick

uscamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 09:50 AM   #39
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
awesome update. excellent acclimation job too. every jawfish i've ever kept ended up jumping out of the tank on me. i hope you have a good cover to prevent this little guy from doing so.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 10:08 AM   #40
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
uscamaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 861
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
awesome update. excellent acclimation job too. every jawfish i've ever kept ended up jumping out of the tank on me. i hope you have a good cover to prevent this little guy from doing so.

Thanks! He almost jumped out of the bucket with only a few inches of water, he was so determined. I have the stock lid on there for now, but when I get my Nova T5 I'll replace it with glass tops.
__________________
-Patrick

uscamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
build, ick, reef, reef build

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
It's so on now - 72g Reef build neilanh Saltwater Reef Aquaria 650 12-06-2010 03:27 PM
75G Reef Build Dad & Matt Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 132 02-28-2010 11:50 PM
New 55 Gal. Build Wenty Members Freshwater Tanks Showcase 17 11-14-2009 09:53 AM
55 Gallon reef build Justin1989 Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 33 05-31-2009 02:30 AM
Transfer of 58 Gal reef w/ HOB to 68 gal reef w/ sump nanoluvr Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 01-28-2009 06:05 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.