PH conroll

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

hickscg

Aquarium Advice Newbie
hey everyone i am new to the hobby amd i have a couple question that im sure some of you will have some answers. it seems that i am having a tuff time regulating my phwhat is the best method for raising and lowering ph in a safe manor i dont want to shock the fish or corals. right now im at about 8.0 or 7.9 how should i go about lowering it?

Stability is better than perfect. If it swings that low you should be good.
How old is your tank?
What kind of top/lid/canopy do you have?
Keep in mind pH will swing, being higher during the lighting hours and lower during the dark hours. Try to take your readings the same time each day.

ph controll

i just have plexiglass top with about a 3 inh gap i the front and on top of that a 6bulb t5 fixture no canopy really how much does the ph usually fluctuate what is bad and what is good

You don't want it to fluctuate any more than 2 or higher.
How old is your tank?

i have this stuff called "perfect ph" you simply open a package and pour it in your tank and in about 2 hours..it made my ph perfect and it has been perfect ever since. you could try that. its in a pink and yellow package

I tried the buffering thing but, for me, it got to be a pain. Mine was too low, so I adjusted my ph to make more surface ripple and it stays balanced out. That plexiglass is probably causing your pH to be lower. I used to have a lid but could not get my pH up, so I took off the hood and did the ph adjustment, and all is well. I know there are folks that use the pH buffereing stuff with great success, but I am not a big fan of adding things to my tank.....I kinda take the all natural approach.

Almost every single time I see PH mentioned in a thread, people say not to do a thing with it.