Prism Skimmer

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fish_fanatic

Aquarium Advice Activist
Ok, I just bought a prism skimmer. I know everyone says that these aren't the greatest but I was able to get one for 70 bucks which is really cheap compared to all the other ones.

So now its all hooked up to the tank and running. The tank is brand new so should i only be getting pure white foam? Also how am I supposed to set the flow? Do I always want a bit of foam going into the collection cup? Or will the foam rise higher when it becomes dirtier?

Any help would be appreciated as this is my first time using a skimmer and I am kinda lost.

if the tank was just setup and has not cycled you probably dont need to even run the skimmer yet. The white foam may be from water conditioners that are added to the tank. What type of water are you using and are you treating it(if it needs it).

Set it so that the level of the water just reaches the bottom on the bubble neck when it is running with air. You'll find that adjusting either the water flow or the air both affect the water level.

As it foams and collects, the foam will be pushed up the neck and into the collection cup. It will take days for this to happen.

All I know is that I had a prizm skimmer and I was always adjusting it. Every day it had to be adjusted. Some days it wouldn't skim at all and some days It would just wet skim and overflow. I just got fed up and got a better skimmer.

Overflow....? You must have been running the water level too high in the collection throat.

Don't get me wrong...I'm not saying it is the world's best skimmer...only that it is functional and that I've never have one overflow.

I think you'll be fine with it. It won't skim anything if there's nothing to skim.