problem

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

10s-chick

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
So I have had my tank for almost 2 years and I would say I am still learning, but I have a yellow tang, blue tang, cleaner shrimp and hermit crabs and recently I have been having outbreaks of white egg looking things on the glass tank. the fish seem unaffected but I would like to know what it is and how to get rid of it if it is not good??

10s-chick said:
So I have had my tank for almost 2 years and I would say I am still learning, but I have a yellow tang, blue tang, cleaner shrimp and hermit crabs and recently I have been having outbreaks of white egg looking things on the glass tank. the fish seem unaffected but I would like to know what it is and how to get rid of it if it is not good??

this is a pic if you can see them very well. it is a 55 gal and I'm pretty sure it's not ick cause I have had that before and they are more egg like and seem a lil bigger

Attachments

• image-3365247750.jpg
    image-3365247750.jpg
    65 KB · Views: 245
what do u mean by pod? they just look like maybe a little white egg

I mean coepods or amphipods. Youre bound to have some in your tank since it's been so long. Do they look like little itty bitty "lice" or "fleas"? If so then that's a good thing. :)

ya they look like little lice, they don't move around like Copepods. why are they good? and what are they should I try to get rid of them?

If they don't move I agree wig spirorbid worms. They're filter feeders taking out excess nutrients. Not bad but you can scrub them off.

They are fish food. Many species prefer these to anything else. They are very good to have as they help complete a life cycle in your tank. That's if they are copepods and/or amphiopods. Wrasses will enjoy these if they are worms.