Protein Skimmer Help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

atwise21

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have had my tank about a month and a half now. I am wanting to get a protein skimmer so I can introduce an anemone to my clown. I have one problem though. The lfs doesn't have a skimmer small enough for my tank unless I buy a canister filter to open the back up completely. I went on petco.com to see if they had anything and they do. They have a skimmer for just ten bucks for my size of tank. I just want to know if anyone has ever used one of these: Lee's counter current protein skimmer, or berlin air-lift protein skimmer. Also, when purchasing either one of these...I do need to get an air pump right? New to the subject so any advice would be helpful.

Im no expert, but I would think that a skimmer for 10 bucks would be garbage. By reading your signature, it looks like you have a 30 gallon tank. I have a 30 gal also and I am running a Aqua C Remora skimmer. The price tag for that puppy was a little over 200 bucks I think. I had a CPR BAK PAK that ran a little over 100 bucks and it eventually stopped working on me.

I would look at the skimmer as an investment and spend some money to get a good one. I learned that after going the cheaper route on my first one.....now im out over 300 bucks!

Also, your tank is way to young for an anemone....I have heard that you should only introduce one after your tank has been well established....at least a year or so, and you have proper lighting.

I had a CPR BAK PAK that ran a little over 100 bucks and it eventually stopped working on me.

How does a skimmer stop working? It is acrylic walls and plastic pipes. The only thing that could possible wear out is the motor, which is replacable.

A $10 skimmer will not do anything. At all.