Quarantine Tank Question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cconemanband

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello.....

I have had my first salt water tank up and running but no fish yet. Upon the advice of forum members I set up a quarantine tank with water from the main display tank and it has been up and running for 12 days now, but I am a little concerned about water condition readings and am wondering if it indeed is ready to place my first fish in which will be a clown.

Here are the readings:
Nitrate=20
Nitrite=.5
alkalilnity=40
Ph=7.0
ammonia=.50

This is my first time having saltwater fish and I am not feeling too sure about the quarantine tank and if I should do or add anything to the tank before getting the clown. I have live rock in the main tank and wondering if I should put one of them in the quarantine tank or if that would not be a good idea.

Thank you.

Steve

You want your PH at 8.0-8.2. 7.0 is VERY low. What brand salt are you using with what water?

Your ammonia and nitrite is also high. What kind of filtration are you running (a simple HOB will usually do)

You do not need to put the lr in the quarantine tank. No substrate and a pvc pipe big enough for a fish to hide in is all you need. As theatrus noted, a simple hob filter should be enough for filtration. Remember that when you put a fish in quarantine you need to consistently check your water parameters and do water changes accordingly.
Why is your pH so low? When you test your main tank, is the pH at 7.0 as well? You need to get that up to 8.0-8.2 and be stable at that reading before you even think about adding any livestock. You can use pH buffers if your current salt doesn't get you into the targeted range.

Keep asking questions, and then more questions. No harm in asking, right? Good luck to you!

Thanks everybody for input..