Reef Maintenance

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dr_girlfriend

Aquarium Advice FINatic
I am thinking of starting a maintenance business, since it seems there aren't very many in my area and I could use a little extra $$. I realize that most people needing this service would be businesses and most likely reef tanks or sw fo tanks. The only problem I have is that I have no experience in reef maintenance. I have plenty of fw experience, but I have never had a sw tank of any kind. Are there any resources that could help me out? Like a reef-keepers bible? TIA

The Conscientious Marine Aquarist by Robert Fenner is the Bible of Reefers. But... if I were one of your customers, I would feel better knowing that you have experience in reef tanks. Maybe start out doing fw maintenance and build up to reefs after some experience in them. There is a huge difference in maintaining a fw and sw of any type. Read a lot, hang around your lfs, and get your own sw tank. Get the experience first. That way you'll know what to expect. JMHO! 8)

I tend to agree. SW and FW have many similarities (nitrogen cycle) and vast differences (compatibility is very difficult, stocking is greatly reduced, lots more equipment, more parameters to test for).

The Fenner book is ideal, pick it up and read it through. I think you'll then realize that you need to care for your own, from start through maturity, to really understand the ecosystem you are maintaining.

I'm one of those people that feels VERY confident about my FW skills. I may only know about fish and plants I've kept, but I'm always learning from others.