Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-10-2004, 08:29 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: la florida
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to swiftwing7
RO/DI unit

I am looking into purchasing an RO/DI unit and discovered that the prices on ebay for a new unit are much cheaper than those of sim iliar quality sold in online stores. I just wanted to make sure i'm not getting ripped off if I buy this.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...sPageName=WDVW
IS this an okay deal or is this not a good company to buy from. I like the price compared to similiar ones online for 200-300 dollars for even less gpd. So what should I do? IF this is a bad deal can anybody direct me to a good RO/Di unit online?

Thanks Swift
P.S. if this is a good deal don't steal it
__________________

__________________
swiftwing7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2004, 09:32 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Crete Illinois
Posts: 656
I jst bought one very similar to that one there. I have not gotten it yet it is still i transit. Expecting on the 12th of August.

There are people here that say the one you are looking at is a good system, but there are also some who don't care for it. You will find that with just about anything out there. Some people have bad luck with a system, some others don't.

Just let this thread go for a bit and you will see. Then you can make a decision based upon what you get here. I went with Aqua-safe canada. Basically the same system.

Mike
__________________

__________________
125 Gal-35 Gal Wet/Dry-Tetra-Tec PF500 HOB Filter
(3) AuquaClear 301 Powerheads-600 GPH Circulating Pump
Automatic Tempature Controller
5-6 Inch Sand Bed-200+ lbs of LR
Sparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2004, 10:43 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 840
I'll be the first to chime in and say that I have it and so far so good. Works good, easy to install and the price was great
__________________
"I know the human being and fish can coexist peacefully."
‚ÄĒSaginaw, Mich., Sept. 29, 2000
ClamKnuckle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2004, 11:40 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Richlands, NC
Posts: 19
Send a message via AIM to Pyxis Send a message via MSN to Pyxis Send a message via Yahoo to Pyxis
if your still looking try inreef out. Joe has excellent customer service and good prices on his stuff.

http://www.inreef.com/xcart/customer...75&cat=0&page=
__________________
Pyxis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2004, 11:53 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 414
I bought the exact same one from filtersdirect and am happy with it. I just need to setup my autotopoff and I will be done.
__________________
tmcpeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2004, 03:45 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 329
yep good stuff. 0-2 TDS out of the DI
__________________
CBRGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2004, 04:00 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: la florida
Posts: 57
Send a message via AIM to swiftwing7
thanks for the help i think i'm going to go with it. I'll let you know how it is.

thanks
__________________
swiftwing7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2004, 01:06 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Asia
Posts: 26
Hi,

May I know do below setup is RO/DI system? In our country we called "diamond water" but I don't know do this system is RO/DI or not?

Please guide. Thanks

__________________
Best Regards,
- Andersen

P/s: English is my 7th languages in my life, I hope reader could understand my broken English

Currently : Having the 2 feet Aquarium tank for Reef setup.

Soon : On the way for setup L=72" X W=24" X H= 30" Aquarium for Reef. -_-" very costly...
andersen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 05:22 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Asia
Posts: 26
I have a water system long ago never uses in my store room, just want to know, wherether this system can feed my reef tank or not.. 8O

There have 7 filter (7 in 1), water will go from step 1 to step 7.

Brand : PureLife (Diamond PLUS/Life Energy Water System)
Model : PL-3000

Step 1 : Sediment Filter
Step 2 : Silver Activated Carbon
(Design by USA)
Step 3 : Positive Ion Resin Plus
(With carbon block/design by germany)
Step 4 : Energy Converter 1
Step 5 : Energy Converter 2
Step 6 : Silver Mineral Bio Ball
(With Far Infra-Rays and Carbon Block)
Step 7 : UF membrane Filter
[i](This UF membrane filter remove water contaminants)

So do this think this system could use it for reef?

Thanks!
__________________
Best Regards,
- Andersen

P/s: English is my 7th languages in my life, I hope reader could understand my broken English

Currently : Having the 2 feet Aquarium tank for Reef setup.

Soon : On the way for setup L=72" X W=24" X H= 30" Aquarium for Reef. -_-" very costly...
andersen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2004, 08:30 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
looks like a ro/di type set up? Very cool looking unit... I would make some water then test it with a TDS meter and test kits that would be the best way to know what it dose.
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS https://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2004, 11:04 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 17
I got mine online at E-bay. It was very simular to that unit, but I dont like their DI system. The one I got has cartages. Look around for another unit. I got a 100gpd RO/DI unit for $115. It's been working for over a year with great sucess. I change the filters every 6 months.
__________________
snookface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2004, 05:27 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
It's my understanding that there are only 2 companies that make membranes and they are both good companies so the main difference is DI resin. I have had some good and some not so good resin, don't get me wrong they all worked just some do not last as long as others. I have had resin burn out after making only 200 gal of water while others last 3-4 x's that. So get a fair priced unit and just shop around for good resin.
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS https://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2004, 06:13 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Asia
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by seaham358
looks like a ro/di type set up? Very cool looking unit... I would make some water then test it with a TDS meter and test kits that would be the best way to know what it dose.
oh? TDS? What is this test? How I test it out? Machine? or chemical?

Thanks
__________________
Best Regards,
- Andersen

P/s: English is my 7th languages in my life, I hope reader could understand my broken English

Currently : Having the 2 feet Aquarium tank for Reef setup.

Soon : On the way for setup L=72" X W=24" X H= 30" Aquarium for Reef. -_-" very costly...
andersen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2004, 11:35 AM   #14
AA Team Emeritus
 
BillyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Western NY
Posts: 4,064
TDS means "Todal Disolved Solids" and is a measurement of everything in the water. Look on ebay or other online stores for a "TDS Meter" it is an electronic probe (like a termometer) that you simply place in the water (follow it's instructions) and it will display a number on a small LCD screen.
__________________
Acronyms and Abbreviations
BillyZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2004, 08:34 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
0 is the number you want....
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS https://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2004, 02:42 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Asia
Posts: 26
I see I see, Thanks for your information.
__________________

__________________
Best Regards,
- Andersen

P/s: English is my 7th languages in my life, I hope reader could understand my broken English

Currently : Having the 2 feet Aquarium tank for Reef setup.

Soon : On the way for setup L=72" X W=24" X H= 30" Aquarium for Reef. -_-" very costly...
andersen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro/di, unit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ro/di unit vsnsofadrgn Archive 4 01-23-2007 11:33 AM
ro/di unit scrmom Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 10-19-2006 01:17 PM
RO/DI unit??? weekf Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 10-15-2006 04:40 PM
RO unit DI ?? OceanMist Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 09-07-2006 07:25 PM
I have an RO unit. Do I really need a DI ? Dr.Nate General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 04-15-2005 10:40 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.