Salt Water Tank Professional????

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jayjmuir

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I really need some advice here. I have done quite a bit of reading on this website but unfortunately it was after I had a new 50g SW tank delivered to my house. I was told by the aquarium store guy that SW tanks were easy to maintain after the initial setup (1-2 months). So I decided on a SW tank instead of a FW tank. Keep in mind I have no previous experience but I am enthusiastic to learn. I expected this guy to teach me what he knows and help me for the first few months. I paid him generously for 2 months of help.
Everything this guy has done and said to me is opposite what I read on this board. Also, I am overseas so I have to overcome the translation difficulties and his English is not very good.

Here is what he did so far.
1. Installed a 50g tank with some sort of filtration system in the bottom cabinet, a protien skimmer, a bubble producing device of some sort, a huge and very bright light on top (removed the stock lid), and a bunch of sand. Placed a hydrometer inside to test the salt. (total about $1100)
2. Four days after all of this was installed he showed up with 6 of what he called "diamond carpet anenome". ($50 a piece)
3. Two days later he showed up and fed the anenomes.

I began reading this board a couple days after the intitial install because I just wasn't confident in what this guy was telling me. Apparently, I was correct to be concerned.