Saltwater Reef Tank vrs Saltwater Fish Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ESL12

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Ok forgive me for this question but I am relativly new to the saltwater tank world.

What is the difference between Saltware Reef and Saltwater Fish tank. I had thought that the saltwater fish require some reef for there survival?

What is the difference in the tank set up, Filtration, lighting etc...

IM new to this and have plans to put an inwall tank in my basement. Im starting from scratch both the wall and the tank are not built yet and i want to ensure I get things right from the start. Thanks all!!!

Both setups normally have Rock with form a reef look.

Fish Only Tank will have Live Rock

A Reef tank will have Live Rock along with Living Corals

Ok.. so What exactly are living Corals? I thought those grow on the live rock... over time of course.

Well... I guess some LiveRock purchased will contain some Corals (mine did NOT). But most desirable corals will be removed before the rock is sold.

So, I guess if you happen to get some liverock with a mushroom or sponge on it, then youll have a reef tank too. However, the corals I'm referring to are the colorful ones we all add to our tank once it's established.

Like these:

Saltwater Reef Aquariums: Live Coral for Saltwater Coral Reef Aquariums

The FOWLR tank predominantly concentrates on the display of saltwater fish. As such it is a much more forgiving environment as compared to the true reef tank. Lighting requirements, water quality, water chemistry, filtration and flow are much more demanding in the true reef tank. There are several different categories of corals that each have different lighting requirements.

The reef tank focuses much more on coral rather than fish (plus your fish selection is limited to those species that won't eat your expensive coral).