Sps acclimation help?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bjj_junkie

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hey everyone! I have a few questions on acclimation. My girlfriend ordered me some frags online and I had her tell me which ones she picked out to have an idea what I'm gonna be dealing with. They're suppose to get in tomorrow so hopefully some of you could help me by then. She ordered me some pretty "advanced" corals and I'm still kinda new to this hobby so please give me details lol. First and probably the hardest to keep from what I read is a blueberry gorgonia. I understand they don't need light and do need good flow but is light bad for it? It's gonna be kinda hard to place it in a spot with low light and high flow since my tank is shallow (most of the flow goes across the top). She also got me a Duncan, alveopora, and some type of acropora please help me on how to acclimate these right cause she would be bummed if they died lol... Oh, and I think she got me a bubble tip anemone if anyone has any tips on how to acclimate that. Thanks a bunch

Maybe you should check out the beginners corals next time and don't let your gf order corals just because they look pretty and not knowing anything about the care involved..

Sorry to be blunt like that.. The easiest one you have ordered is the duncan.. Pretty hardy coral so that should be fine.. What lights do you have and how is your water? Acro need pretty clean water to thrive and high lighting.. No experience with the goni or alveopora although from reading about them in the past, they will require a lot of your attention.

Very nice of your gf to do this, I just know that if I let my wife pick out all of my livestock I would have a 55g full of tangs and extremely difficult corals.