Star fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TheGrapeApe

Aquarium Advice Freak
Does anyone know of a star fish that doesn't look like worms that's safe for a reef

Does anyone know of a star fish that doesn't look like worms that's safe for a reef

Im not sure of the species I know there are some pretty cool looking ones at my local aquarium store sorry wish I had name but definetly keep looking

Not sure of the name of it but they are quite popular. They are the red ones (blue too but heard these are harder to keep!) you see at the LFS. Also if you have a big enough tank you could get a sand sifting star (must have sand not crushed coral) they are cool! Before I started learning about stuff I thought I could trust the word of a LFS well come to find out they wanted to make $ and could care less about what you had for a tank! That's how I got my sand sifting star! I only have a 55gl (doing 150gl build now) but he's been in it for about 7mo and he's doing great!

Just do some research but there are definitely reef safe stars!!! They are such a cools invert to watch!

The sand sifting stars generally slowly starve to death as they consume everything in the sand bed. The other starfish referenced are linkia stars that come in orange, red, and blue.

Definitely avoid any of the knobby looking stars including chocolate chip since you're planning a reef.

I'm pretty sure Reefs2go.com will have all your aquarium needs.

Last edited:
The sand sifting stars generally slowly starve to death as they consume everything in the sand bed. The other starfish referenced are linkia stars that come in orange, red, and blue.

Definitely avoid any of the knobby looking stars including chocolate chip since you're planning a reef.