Suggestions for aggressive tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tripper

Aquarium Advice Freak
I'm a newbie to the forum, and have a cycled tank that needs more fish. I have a 75g FOWLR that is ready to go. The tank has been running for about 6 months. I have a firefish and a small snowflake eel in it currently, as well as a few snails doing some cleanup work. I want to make this an aggressive tank. Was looking at maybe a puffer, clown or picasso trigger, and a volitan lion. My LFS will take the firefish for me so he doesn't get eaten if that is an issue. Any suggestions for me on the best fish to stock in here? Thanks

A voltian lion is an exelent choice.
Puffers are cool but yeah say bye-bye to your snails or other invert cleaners you may want

I'm not too concerned about losing a few snails. I really just want to have 3 or 4 great fish in the tank. Would a clown trigger be too aggressive for a lion? I know lions will eat anything they can fit in their mouth, but didn't know how aggressive they were with fish of equal size.

Just keep one thing in mind..these guys are VERY messy eaters, so make sure you have a good protein skimmer available. I have an aggressive FOWLR as well, and the crap that comes out of the skimmer is unbelievable!

Also, The Clown Trigger is very aggressive, and will most likely dominate the tank so you should put him last if possible.

Mike

Thanks for the suggestions so far. I do have a good protein skimmer. I have a Aqua C Urchin Pro which is the in-sump version of the Remora everyone seems to like here.

What other types of triggers would you suggest? I like the coloration of the clown trigger, but i am concerned that he would pick on the lion.

Is there anything else you would suggest to go with the lionfish. He is what i want to base my tank around.

Thanks!