Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-28-2012, 08:07 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portland or
Posts: 261
Yes you would you have to to get the light right on top

__________________
J33ps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 08:08 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portland or
Posts: 261
Normally you put your filter pads on top of those holes
__________________
J33ps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 08:10 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
armyman16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by J33ps
Normally you put your filter pads on top of those holes
Well I had many people tell me that it didn't help haha so I took them off, is there any other way I can take off the tray and still get mechanical filtration?
__________________
armyman16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 08:11 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
armyman16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 608
I really don't wanna sell this whole setup and buy a new one
__________________
armyman16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 08:12 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portland or
Posts: 261
Yes just like I said before u will have to put another pipe in where your return pipe is and put a filter sock on that pipe
__________________
J33ps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 08:13 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portland or
Posts: 261
I made my hole set up for 60 dollars
__________________
J33ps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 08:17 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portland or
Posts: 261
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3757965018.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	120.6 KB
ID:	97265

This is how I did mine add another 3 in to the return line so it would fit the filter sock I bought a ten gal tank for 15 at petco got tank silicone put a couple of piece of glass in there
__________________
J33ps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 08:19 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portland or
Posts: 261
You may not have to mine was cheap but my sump was different then yours sent a pic of where the water comes it
__________________
J33ps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 08:19 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portland or
Posts: 261
Or a pic of the hole sump
__________________
J33ps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 08:48 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
armyman16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by J33ps
Yes just like I said before u will have to put another pipe in where your return pipe is and put a filter sock on that pipe
Okay are you talking about the pipe from the overflow? I can easily tie a filter sock onto that pipe, is your top glass or plexiglass?
I'm worried if I get plexiglass the light will warp it
Ok here i will take as detailed pictures as i can of each chamber
First pic is the side of the first chamber, the pipes are behind the protein skimmer, third pic is between second and third chambera
__________________
armyman16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 08:51 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portland or
Posts: 261
Yes I am can u send a pic of the hole thing one pic
__________________
J33ps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 09:13 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
armyman16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 608
Here it is
__________________
armyman16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 09:18 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portland or
Posts: 261
Where does your water come it and I used whatever was cheep and clear by the looks so far you could like terrace said cut part of your top off where your going to put your light and cover it I used plexy glass because you could cut holes where tubes were comeing out and it was cheep I got it from a place that cuts it and had scrap
__________________
J33ps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 09:29 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
armyman16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by J33ps
Where does your water come it and I used whatever was cheep and clear by the looks so far you could like terrace said cut part of your top off where your going to put your light and cover it I used plexy glass because you could cut holes where tubes were comeing out and it was cheep I got it from a place that cuts it and had scrap
The pipes come in from the top of the left chamber, not connected to the plastic piece...if I cut a piece of plexiglass the exact same size of the white plastic piece it will all fit fine...your plexiglass isn't warping because of the light is it?
__________________
armyman16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 09:37 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portland or
Posts: 261
I got 1/8 in because it was 3.50 cent I went cheep so yes it did but just cut a round hole in yours get that light I was talking about it don't get hot at all put the light right over the hole make sure it just fits the medal rim and the rest is open for light get u may want to put the white thing with the holes down where the egg crate is so the algae will not go into your pump
__________________
J33ps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 09:46 PM   #36
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portland or
Posts: 261
Or just keep the filter pad u have below your bioballs right where it's at and stick some hair algae in there with the light
__________________
J33ps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 09:50 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
armyman16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 608
Will I need sand? And if so where can I put that?
__________________
armyman16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 09:54 PM   #38
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portland or
Posts: 261
No you don't need sand the only problem I see you haveing is some algae don't like a lot of water flow
__________________
J33ps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 10:36 PM   #39
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
armyman16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 608
Well I was just reading that chaeto likes medium water flow and thats about what I have in there, how much of it should I put in there? I mean should I fill that whole column up with some chaeto?
__________________
armyman16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2012, 10:40 PM   #40
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portland or
Posts: 261
No get a hand full or so it grows fast and when it fills the area up cut it in half and do it all over again
__________________
J33ps is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.