Tank prep for pesticide fogger?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

austinsdad

Aquarium Advice Addict
We want to set of bombs/foggers in the basement where our SW fish tank is. This is my first year w/fish, but an annual pesticide thing we do for the summer critters (spiders, crickets, & etc) in the basement.

What do I do to ensure my fish and water aren't contaminated? I'm thinking an airtight cover, over the entire tiank, stand, and sump. Worried about the temperature.

Anyone got any advice?

WOW!! That is a REALLY tough thing. What size is the tank? I would DEFINATELY turn off skimmer. Personally I wouldnt do it at all! If I did I would take the tank completely out of there. If any gets in water your tank is toast. It doesnt take much fumes to wipe out the tank, and once it get in the LR your going to have to toss it. I would make other arrangements.

I have a suggestion avoid the bombs and use some residual insecticide like Suspend or Demon WP, or a targeted dehydratant for crickets like drione. Sprays on gorund in cracks, dries, and any insect that strolls across the dry area for 30+ days, dies.

(My best friend is an exterminator.)

This stuff works much better than bombs and does not fly into the air. No bomb, no dead fish. 8)

I'd agree that if you could avoid the bombs all together you'd probably be much better off.

The following is how you would need to secure your tank for a pesticide bomb AND why you shouldn't use them if at all possible.