Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-30-2004, 12:28 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami, Fla
Posts: 649
TDS?

First of all I'd like to say it is nice to be back. I went on vacation to israel last week for thanksgiving (lol & pics are in the lounge). Before that I was out for the weekend so it has been a long time since I was last here. (wow that was a long introduction)

What is with TDS? The water out of the tap measures 202-250ppm. The water from my five stage RO unit measures 120-163. Nitrates are miniscule <2, chlorine is at 0, phosphate is at 0, However 120-163 seems really high. What's the deal? Does an RO unit not get rid of ionized substances?
__________________

__________________
Failing to prepare is preparing to fail.
-anonymous
seafan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 12:38 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 3,967
That is VERY high, I think your meter is off. My inlet (from well water) is 85-95 and my outlet is 0-1.
__________________

__________________
Bearfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 01:07 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami, Fla
Posts: 649
How do I calibrate it?
__________________
Failing to prepare is preparing to fail.
-anonymous
seafan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 01:24 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sturbridge, MA
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to jaiden
200-300 is not abnormal for source water. 20-30 is not abnormal for RO output. 160 is too high. something is wrong.

to get 0-3, you generally need a DI after the RO. Bearfan either has a broken tds meter or a very clean well.
__________________
54g all-glass bowfront corner planted FW

Red tiger lilly, Rotala Indica, Sagittaria Subulata, Micro Sword, Cardinal Plant
Fluorite Black sand and gravel
jaiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 01:49 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami, Fla
Posts: 649
How do you explain the readings for nitrates, and phosphates?
__________________
Failing to prepare is preparing to fail.
-anonymous
seafan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 02:00 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 3,967
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaiden
to get 0-3, you generally need a DI after the RO. Bearfan either has a broken tds meter or a very clean well.
Lake Superior water through a sand substrate. About as clean as a well can get.

And I do have a DI.
__________________
Bearfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 02:01 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sturbridge, MA
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to jaiden
I'd guess that the nitrates are being read by the tds meter. DI would help you, but putting 160 tds into a di will use up your DI resin in a hurry.
__________________
54g all-glass bowfront corner planted FW

Red tiger lilly, Rotala Indica, Sagittaria Subulata, Micro Sword, Cardinal Plant
Fluorite Black sand and gravel
jaiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 02:04 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
You say RO so you have no DI cartridge right?
How old are your filters on the unit. Whats the GPD on your membrane. You can buy calibration fluid for a TDS meter on line.
If you have a DI then I would say its used up. What type of unit and what filters do you have. I have a Micron then 2 carbons then the membrane then 2 DI units. I get 0 TDS... Starting out with 280 TDS with 40 after the membrane.
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS https://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 02:09 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami, Fla
Posts: 649
No DI, just a 5 micron charcoal then another 5 micron charcoal, then one sediment, and two other sediments I think. It's a 75 GPD membrane. It is brand new just two weeks old.
__________________
Failing to prepare is preparing to fail.
-anonymous
seafan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 02:11 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami, Fla
Posts: 649
can you send me some of your water to calibrate it seaham. send me a PM.
__________________
Failing to prepare is preparing to fail.
-anonymous
seafan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 02:13 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sturbridge, MA
Posts: 595
Send a message via AIM to jaiden
Did you flush it out? RO's usually recommend discarding the first 10-20 gal or so. keep testing the tds.
__________________
54g all-glass bowfront corner planted FW

Red tiger lilly, Rotala Indica, Sagittaria Subulata, Micro Sword, Cardinal Plant
Fluorite Black sand and gravel
jaiden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 02:30 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
You don't use water to calibrate it, its a special fluid..

It also sounds like you have you filters in wrong. A micron filter should be first to collect sediment before it gets to the carbon.
What type of unit is it. And if its a new unit like the others said trash the first 10-20 gal of water.
I would rearrange the filters...... coursious on what kind of unit it is. With a 5 stage you could get ride of the last carbon ro micron and add a DI cartridge.
http://www.h2oinstruments.com/PH_Meters.htm
this is to give you a idea on what Im talking about with the fluid... Google for it.
Also if the meter is new it probably is ok and is just the way your filters are hooked up. Anyone near you have a TDS you can borrow to compair? How about the LFS.....Take some water for them to test if they have a TDS.
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS https://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 03:39 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami, Fla
Posts: 649
Thanks that might be it. I got it on ebay and had a plumber install it I'll rearrange the filter cartridges and check it. A DI unit would burn out very quickly in Miami so I decided not to get one.
__________________
Failing to prepare is preparing to fail.
-anonymous
seafan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 03:51 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
starting with a TDs of 200-250 is not bad at all. My friend starts with 700 and his Di works well.
Good luck
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS https://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 04:06 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami, Fla
Posts: 649
It really depends on what those solids are. In my case it is calcium carbonate.
__________________
Failing to prepare is preparing to fail.
-anonymous
seafan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2004, 09:50 PM   #16
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
Check your TDS meter in some distilled water. It should read 0-1 or very close to it. Not the best way to calibrate it, but it'll get you close.
__________________
Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.
Logan J
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2004, 11:13 AM   #17
Sam
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: West Caldwell, New Jersey
Posts: 347
Send a message via Yahoo to Sam
I have a six stage: 10 micron - 5 micron - 1 micron - membrane - carbon block - DI cartridge. I get about 205 out of the tap and about 5ppm RO. My DI is shot because I am getting the same TDS out of the DI cartridge. Just changed all of the pre-filters as my pressure had gotten really bad. Could not believe the gook on the pre-filters.
__________________
Happiness is defined by the joy we bring to the lives of others, for without that, we ourselves cannot be.

Me
Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2004, 10:05 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami, Fla
Posts: 649
It seems to be working my TDS is down to 6. Maybe I should get a two micron? I used my friends meter though. I think mine is broken, or maybe not calibrated properly.
__________________
Failing to prepare is preparing to fail.
-anonymous
seafan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2004, 09:21 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
One way to tell is test with his then yours if there the same then it ok...
Down to 6 with no DI is great I do not think you will get much better then this with a extra micron.
Are you sure you don't have a DI cartridge in there... 6 is extremely low for just micron, membrane and carbon.
What unit is this and were did u get it???
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS https://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2004, 05:07 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Miami, Fla
Posts: 649
I might, I don't know what two of the stages do. Actually now that Look at it im pretty sure it has a DI.
__________________

__________________
Failing to prepare is preparing to fail.
-anonymous
seafan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TDS meter... TDS? stratmaster General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 09-25-2009 05:29 PM
TDS SassyAngel111 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 05-18-2007 06:31 AM
TDS? roka64 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 11-28-2006 10:39 AM
TDS in....TDS out of RO well water for reef jackdp Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 11-26-2006 09:59 AM
What should my tds level be? havefun Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 02-26-2005 01:15 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.