Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-08-2012, 02:35 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 640
To good of water??

So my question is, is it posable to have to good of water quality for Lps and soft corals to grow? The reason I am asking is because all my parameters are perfect, weekly water changes, temp a constant 78, remote fuge with a algae turf scrubber and dsb. For some reason all my soft corals and Lps are just not growing that well. Any suggestions? I know to little lighting is not the answer because I have a 120 watt led fixture above the tank.

__________________
Tomchong22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 02:47 PM   #2
Giant Clam Addict
Community Admin
 
Sniperhank's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Summerville, Pennsylvania
Posts: 20,640
For soft corals my opinion is yes. As for lps, i highly doubt that os the issue.

When i still had softies, they did well before i got my tank in better shape after i cycled. Once i got better at mixing up my water, keeping parameters right, and so on, my softies started having issues and my lps took off.
Sniperhank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 03:05 PM   #3
SW REEF 20+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 39,111
One thing about water quality is that you can only test for what you have water test kits for. Other compounds or toxins could be in there and you would not know because your test kit does not test for that.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 03:54 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by melosu58
One thing about water quality is that you can only test for what you have water test kits for. Other compounds or toxins could be in there and you would not know because your test kit does not test for that.
Well I test for, calcium, phosphate, nitrate, nitrite, ammonia, ph, alk, sg. The house is new so it does not have copper pipes, I'm just stumped as to why they are not growing as well. I am using reef crystals for my salt mix. Also the tank has been up for a year and a half
__________________
Tomchong22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 06:38 PM   #5
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,365
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
You have a fuge and algae turf scrubber so I will assume you have algae growing in both. If there are enough nutrients in the water for the algae there is enough for the corals. So I have to say no, your water isn't too clean for soft corals or LPS corals to grow.
Do you dose anything?
Quote:
Well I test for, calcium, phosphate, nitrate, nitrite, ammonia, ph, alk, sg.
What are those parameters, what brand test kits do you use and how old are the test kits?
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 07:42 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
I would also say no. What do you mean by "not growing that well"? LPS take some considerable time to build their skeletons. I think SPS grows (visually) faster.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 10:12 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccCapt
You have a fuge and algae turf scrubber so I will assume you have algae growing in both. If there are enough nutrients in the water for the algae there is enough for the corals. So I have to say no, your water isn't too clean for soft corals or LPS corals to grow.
Do you dose anything?

What are those parameters, what brand test kits do you use and how old are the test kits?
I am running the fuge and algae turf scrubber to take out any excess nutrient, so yes there is going to be growth of algae. I am using a API test kit, ammonia, nitrite, nitrates, phosphates all at zero, calcium is around 420 ish give or take. I don't dose anything only weekly waterchanges.
As far as not growing that well, for instance I have a torch coral that I got 6 or so month ago with 2 heads, it now has 3. Same thing with the candy Cain, zoas I can't even tell if they have grown since I got them, green star polyps have grown maybe an inch from there they were 8 months ago. I am just stumped because you see tanks where corals just explode in that same amount of time frame.
__________________
Tomchong22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 10:33 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Brooklyn2la's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by melosu58
One thing about water quality is that you can only test for what you have water test kits for. Other compounds or toxins could be in there and you would not know because your test kit does not test for that.
So how do you know what your water's quality is like? The LFS told me to ship it out to some place in Colorado.
__________________
Brooklyn2la is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 10:41 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brooklyn2la

So how do you know what your water's quality is like? The LFS told me to ship it out to some place in Colorado.
The only way to really test it is to run it through a machine with high tech software to tell you how much of each chemical is in your water. Perfume companies use this same type of method to reverse engineer other perfumes and make them better.
__________________
Tomchong22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2012, 10:52 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
The API calcium test kit is not reliable IME. Check it against a salifert kit.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 08:09 AM   #11
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,365
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
What's your alk? What's your salinity? What kind of water (RO/DI, tap, well, etc.) do you use for top offs and water changes?
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 11:40 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 640
Alk is around 7dkh, sg is 1.025 and for top off I use tap water because my water tests at zero nitrates and phosphates with a ph of around 7.5
__________________
Tomchong22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 12:05 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bskerrichard27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,173
City water? Or well
__________________
bskerrichard27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 01:23 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Brooklyn2la's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomchong22

The only way to really test it is to run it through a machine with high tech software to tell you how much of each chemical is in your water. Perfume companies use this same type of method to reverse engineer other perfumes and make them better.
I was talking about my aquarium water.
__________________
Brooklyn2la is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 01:27 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by bskerrichard27
City water? Or well
city water.
__________________
Tomchong22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 01:29 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 640
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brooklyn2la

I was talking about my aquarium water.
Lol exactly, that is the only way to tell what is in your water, the place your lfs told you to send the water to is probably a chemical engineer company.
__________________
Tomchong22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 01:30 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bskerrichard27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,173
Your water source ....city water well water
__________________
bskerrichard27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 07:05 PM   #18
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,365
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomchong22 View Post
city water.
Read this.....
Aquarium Chemistry: Tap Water in Reef Aquaria — Advanced Aquarist | Aquarist Magazine and Blog
As will become clear in this article, using tap water is risky business. Short of testing your own water, there is no way to be certain that your water is acceptable.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 07:56 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 640
So I'm wondering, could I have to much flow in the tank?? I have 4 maxi jet powerheads, 3 rated at 500gph and 1 at 750gph. The fish love it, an I am getting great circulation but I'm beginning to think there is to much flow.( the tank is a 60 gallon with around 100ish lbs of live rock 48x12x24)
__________________
Tomchong22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2012, 09:07 AM   #20
SW 20 & Over Club
 
ccCapt's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Northeast PA
Posts: 5,365
Send a message via ICQ to ccCapt
Flow isn't the problem. I have zoas and LPS in my tank and have 4 Koralia 4's at 1200 gph each and 1 Koralia 3 at 850 gph. My tank is 2x the size of yours but I have more than 2x the flow you do.
My guess is the fact you are using tap water.
__________________
/Larry
125g reef
See My Tank Info
Check out The build project
ccCapt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to lose your hair in 29 gallons.My BC 29 build. Convict2161 Nano Reefs 215 03-13-2012 03:19 AM
new to the hobby :) zypher Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 03-08-2012 05:55 PM
Moving on from cycling to maintenance!! sammybelle Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 03-08-2012 11:50 AM
filter floss??? can someone explain what it is and where to find at petsmart? yankeeslover Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 03-08-2012 11:34 AM
On going issue - Hazy water (LOTS of info/pics!) danstock Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 19 03-08-2012 11:11 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.