UV Sterilizer

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cybercron

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello,

My Turbo Twist UV sterilizer is shot. Anyone have a recommendation for a good reliable UV sterilizer for a 55 gallon reef tank?

Thanks,

Van

I've been using the CSL Double Helix for the past 2 years without any problems but CSL went out of business. If your not too concerned about warranty, I'm sure some online places still have them in stock. I find that the bulbs can be generically replaced.

When you say its shot what do you mean? You can get replacment bulbs for them or is teh ballast not working or do you have a puncture in the tubing or water chamber?

Curent USA is coming out with a UV pretty quick! It will basically be the CSL unit under a new name. If your Cioralife unit is malfunctioning and within a tear old call ESU about it. they take care of people pretty good.

I picked up an 18W CSL Double Helix. My Turbo twist was leaking into the bulb chamber and shorting out. Unfortunately, it was over a year old. I am not too impressed with the seals they used. The seals around the glass chamber were cracking and disintegrating!

Thanks,

Van

UV is over rated if you ask me. I had one and never knew the bulb blew out so i never replaced the bulb and took it off the tank.

Hmm is a 180 gallon per hour powerhead enough for the coralife turbo twist 3x? My bulb is a 9 watt PL compact fluorescent.

The slower the gph, the higher the "kill rate" for the UV light. I would suggest anywhere from 100 to max 200 gph for a 9 watt CF UV. I personally run a CSL double helix 9 watt on a 58g tank with a Fluval 104 which pumps about 100 gph. Keeping the same theory, I also run a 18 watt CSL UV on a 90g with another Fluval 104, so you see that I keep my flow rate down for these small non- commercial UVs.