Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-02-2007, 10:42 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Very odd occurrence..

See if this makes sense. I have a main tank that is up and running now for 4+ years. Its a 100 gallon with a 40 gallon sump, 3 fish, 3 shrimp, lots of xenia, polpys of all sorts, 150 lbs of LR and 100 lbs of LS.
I also have running a 30 gallon QT with 1 tang in it with a seeded biowheel from my sump (3 months), softball size peice of LR, and a baggie (open) of LS. QT has been up and running since 10/25 and cycled it with a large shrimp from a local deli. Tang in the QT has been in there since 12/11 without incident.
So a few days ago as I normally do I tested for ammonia. (in the previous 3+ weeks with the fish in there) there has been no ammonia. I tested this past weekend and it showed .20. I paniced and did a water change from my main into the QT of like 9 gallons. For kicks after thinking, I tested my main water as well. Test showed .20 as well. So I went a step farther..I tested my RODI water. Same result. Chalked it up as bad test kit. Went to the fish store and exchanged it as they said the same.
Came home tonight and tested with a new test kit (of the same brand). SAME RESULT!! However the RODI water shows .60!! Can this be? Heres what weird. I had the same version of test kit left over from a year ago and was testing the QT during the cycle. It showed a spike and then fall and then the tang went in the tank. To me something doesnt seem right. Especially the fact that I have ammonia showing in the main with corals and shrimp and all is well. I have nothing that would produce ammonia?? Ammonia comes from decaying and no bacteria base...so whats the deal? Sorry so lengthy...

__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 12:59 AM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,543
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
If your RO resins are fairly new, my guess is you have bad test kits. Like squawk said, type of kit would be useful to know.
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 01:23 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
The test kit is made by Instant Ocean. My DI resin is new in one cartidge and 5-6 months old in the secondary one. The carbon and sediment are probably 4-5 months old.
Also I wouldnt think you would have ANY ammonia in your drinkign water. This would be a sign of decay wouldnt it?
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 09:27 AM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,858
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I agree, you shouldn't have any ammonia (maybe a very little at the most) in your drinking water. I would take it to the LFS to doublecheck you water. If they come up with the same results, you may want to call your water company, ASAP!
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 10:08 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Yeah when I tested my RODI water it was at least .6! Thats a lot for sure. I just dont see why I would have any ammonia as again ammonia means something is decaying - right? Well if I have more ammonia in my RO water than in my tank, something really doesnt add up.
Is it normal to have any ammonia in drinking water? Im going to change my carbon block and sediment filter this morning and see what happens then. Also will test my tasp water too and see what comes out.
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 10:15 AM   #7
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,858
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Test your tap, on one of the ones that doesn't have your RO/DI unit on it. That might help you troubleshoot your RO/DI unit....I wouldn't think you should have much or any ammonia in your drinking water...but who knows...
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 10:29 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
OH WOW! I just tested my tap water and it came back above the chart (.8 is the highest)!! Maybe I need to contact my city on this. This doesnt seem right at all!
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 10:33 AM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,858
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Yup, I would call!
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 10:43 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
Im calling the city now. In the meantime how do I eliminate the ammonia in my main and QT tank? Im assuming this is the sourse of my ammonia problem in both being its at .2
Will carbon eliminate it? I wonder how long my main has been exposed to ammonia? How did my corals and inverts survive?
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 11:10 AM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,858
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
I believe RO/DI should take care of it.....But, in your case, it doesn't seem to be working properly. Maybe you need to change out your filters and membranes...What typ of RO/DI do you have?
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 11:46 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,152
Send a message via Yahoo to fishman
All of the membranes have been recently replaced. Im taking my water to a LFS now for them to test.
Also if there is a problem with my RO unit or membranes and I need to buy water from a Walmart or such, do I buy distilled or spring water?
__________________
fishman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 12:03 PM   #13
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,858
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Distilled. I'm am not too sure what chems they put in Spring water (if you are talking about, bottled water, such as Dasani).
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 12:34 PM   #14
SW REEF 20+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 39,078
Try using distilled water if you have to till you get your RO/DI unit under control.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 12:36 PM   #15
AA Team Emeritus
 
Devilishturtles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Frederick, Maryland
Posts: 8,543
Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
I agree, distilled is the way to go.
__________________
-Lindsay

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here

Like the advice someone just gave you? Add to their reputation! Click on the balance icon underneath their username and let them know.
Devilishturtles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 12:46 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 256
There's always been ammonia in my tap water. That's the reason I went to a DI.
__________________
STARFYRE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 12:56 PM   #17
SW REEF 20+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 39,078
I`ve always heard that water companies add ammonia for some reason to drinking water. Cant remember why.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 01:00 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 256
It kills the bacteria from fecal matter and helps break everything down....I think. My fiance had to do a paper on the sewage plant. I'll double check with him.
__________________
STARFYRE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 01:06 PM   #19
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,858
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
But that still seems kind of high, for drinking water, out of the tap....right?
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2007, 01:27 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 256
That's why I drink spring water.
__________________
STARFYRE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! Odd size tank needs odd size hood NewFishFella General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 08-31-2006 10:24 AM
Odd Question, Odd idea fish_4_all Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 03-15-2006 10:31 PM
odd???? greatgman Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 11 11-01-2004 09:55 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.