Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater Reef Aquaria
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-20-2011, 12:34 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 167
Want a sump ?

I really need/want a sump but my cabinet has a board in the middle and I can't knock t out :/ so what should I do buy another canister ?? Maybe but people say that's my nitrate problem ? Any ideas be helpful thanks
__________________

__________________
westy101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 12:58 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 100
my cabinet had a board in the middle we made a frame like frameing out a window slipped it in and then cut out the middle it wasnt that bad just make sure you support the middle when you cut out the board
__________________

__________________
xsmoker_3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 01:14 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 167
How would you cut the board my board is like tight to the edges ?
__________________
westy101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 01:34 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Krypt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Holley, NY
Posts: 752
Don't cut the board, chances are that it's a load bearing support so if you cut it, down goes the tank. I had a similar problem with my old stand, I ended up building a custom stand to enable me to have a sump. I'd look into doing that, there are plenty of ideas over in the DIY forums.
__________________
"If your wife ever asks how much something was for your tank, just tell her you got it on sale and you had to have it! She'll understand"

-Chuck
Krypt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 01:59 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 167
Is that right what I said about nitrates ? If so could I just use live rock in every stage ?
__________________
westy101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 02:41 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
OR YOU COULD HAVE 2 SUMPS AND JOIN THEM TOGETHER WITH PVC PIPE,THATS WHAT i'VE DONE,PICS ARE IN MY PROFILE!!
__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 04:25 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 167
Were in your profile are the pics they would be really helpfull thanks
__________________
westy101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 05:41 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Oxford,England
Posts: 1,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by westy101 View Post
Were in your profile are the pics they would be really helpfull thanks
Go into my profile,go to albums and then to on going tank,theres a few pics in there
__________________
Old Chinese proverb:
Don't go to bed with ichy bum
wake up with smelly finger!!
David S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 05:49 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 100
it is load bearing thats why you frame it out to add support. i used a recipricating saw it worked great it really isn't hard to do.
__________________
xsmoker_3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 05:50 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 167
Kl cheers if not what about stack on top e.g.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1873798663.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	30.5 KB
ID:	31647   Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1987844720.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	28.5 KB
ID:	31648  

__________________
westy101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 05:58 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 167
If nit I've only got one of these any thing I could do with it ?? Any ideas be great thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2367775903.jpg
Views:	62
Size:	24.3 KB
ID:	31650  
__________________
westy101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 05:59 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 100
wow dont quit the day job
__________________
xsmoker_3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 06:05 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 167
Just rough lol and are you going to be useful or just annoying ?
__________________
westy101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 07:12 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 100
sorry cant make heads or tails out of your drawing or the way you write. i have a 75 gal tank and was able to cut the middle out so maybe you should only respond to things you know about. and yes the sump will lower your nitrates as long as you put cheto in and you arnt over feeding your fishalso check the water you are doing water changes with to see if the nitrates are zero. a sump wont fix all problems but it is a great step up in filtration.
__________________
xsmoker_3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 09:05 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 100
__________________
xsmoker_3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 09:06 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 100
you can see where i cut the center out and put in the 2x4's
__________________
xsmoker_3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 11:56 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 167
Would it be easier to change all the media in the canister for lr ?
__________________
westy101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 12:01 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 167
Also how did you cut the middle cow,d you give a detailed explanation please thanks
__________________

__________________
westy101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
lost my tank, but back at it now! sump or no sump lower11 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 9 07-10-2007 02:35 PM
Pro Clear Sump - How to put heater in sump & Questions.. TheChad Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 04-14-2006 06:39 PM
adding another sump onto my original sump bingbat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 01-15-2005 12:00 AM
Whats a sump, A simple sump Mr.Maska Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 12-19-2004 05:51 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.