What do you all do when there is a power outage?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Salttanker

Aquarium Advice Addict
I know many of us have several thousands invested in our tanks. All it would take is a power outage to wipe out all the work that has been done; and it wouldn't take long. I am a Systems Analyst and I work all day with servers and networks. After having PO here today, I realized the importance of a backup system.
Do any of you use a UPS on your tanks to prevent power sags, or power failures? I am toying with the idea of getting one for mine. I don't want the small one, where you only have 15 minutes or so. I am looking at the APC 1500v or better, which is supposed to give you anywhere from 60-90 minutes of battery time. I think it is a small price to may to protect your investment.
Does anyone use one, and if so, what type is it and how long does it last?
Thanks,

Mike

60 - 90 minutes may not help in a sustained outage. I feel better having a generator handy. I've got the 5000, which would not only keep my tank going, but keep select lights in the home on, and my freezer and refrigerator. Otherwise, I've heard of folks using airstones for short durations. We can get 1 to 2 day outages with major storms or ice problems on power lines.

Yikes! I guess a generator would be appropriate there. Since I live in Ariznoa, the power outages we have here are from new construction..they always seem to hit a line when digging. It usually goes down for an hour tops, but last year we had one for 4 hours, and I lost several fish due to that one failure.

Mike

I am looking at the APC 1500v or better, which is supposed to give you anywhere from 60-90 minutes of battery time. I think it is a small price to may to protect your investment.