what return pump for this setup?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bawla47

Aquarium Advice Activist
i JUST bought this setup

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&rd=1&item=4380849010&ssPageName=STRK:MEWN:IT

the overflow is rated at up to 600 gph.

I was thinkin of gettin the CA 2200 as the return pump. But on various sites, ive seen it advertised at 800 gph, 685 and 585. I dont want to overpower the overflow. I want it to work right.

im totally new to this all, tryin to piece everything together for my setup.

What pump would you suggest?

I need help asap please, going to be buying the pump from the same seller and hoping to pay as soon as i can for everything.

THanks in advance guys!

Jay D

I have a 55 gallon tank, dont know if that would affect it( didnt think so atleast)

if the pump you use pushes more water the the overflow can handle, you can put a valve on the return line to slow it down to where you want, thats what im going to do with mine.. i think its a ball valve, its one where there is a small handle and you can turn to adjust the flow..... i have not picked one up yet so i dont know the name =)

im running a line off of my return line back down into the sump, then adjust the water flow between the 2, so its not to much for the overflow

there are alot of examples in the dyi section i think, or around the forum.. try a search :)

i think its a ball valve

Yup, thats all you need. If your going to ball it off, hook up a T fitting just above the pump but still submerged. This will allow the excess head pressure the ball valve creates to escape rather than build up on the pump and shorten its lifespan. This is not 100% necessary, however it is a cheap addition that keeps things running longer.