Will clownfish be safe with coral?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

moonjelly

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I'm new to marine keeping and this might sound silly but what are the chances of corals eating a clownfish?

At my local store there was a clownfish that really liked a 'giant mushroom coral' (what the guy called it). Having just bought a matched pair of clowns, we asked if we could order one of these corals too, which should be available this week. Now I'm worried I'll have my eyes glued to the tank making sure they are okay! I don't want to loose these clowns

Very little that they will be eaten (unless you get a condy anemone ) or an unhealthy clown fish ..
There is more chance that the clown may host something to death . By that I mean they will host it and stress it till it dies off .. it wont come out to eat etc .. However that is also a slim chance

Thank you for your reply. I find it confusing finding out what corals are called to be honest. As I say, the guy in the shop referred to a 'giant mushroom' coral. Have you heard of this specifically? I know there are many types of mushroom coral and do they differ from leather coral? Because again, it's confusing and different websites say different things and some say mushrooms are leathers!

I agree with Sadie. Clownfish are safe with corals. As she mentioned a clown might be to physical while hosting a coral but that rarely happens.

The best bet would be to get the scientific name and not go by the "common" aka, made up by the LFS/collector names......

The only thing I'm worried about now is if it's a giant mushroom cup coral..they seem bad for eating things? I'm not risking one of those if that's what they have in mind for me.