Water chemistry

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pinkkiwi1230

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I'm still very new to this.

Lone story short, moved into a house with a fish tank already, we bout a bigger one, I didn’t know about the cycle stage.

I first started off with test strips but quickly ran out from testing so much. I used water from the old tank, added new water, some aque safe start stuff, and other stuff to condition the water. My water was doing fine. Then out of no where the nitrates or nitrite spike, or both. I added plants, did a few water changes, so fish died but I got it back to 0.

So 2 days ago, I wake up to 2 dead fish, I did a 50% water change, added the tap water bottle stuff and thought that would help. Yesterday, 3 more fish died. I added Start Zyme and did a 25% water change. Today 1 more fish died, and 1 I can tell he is still under stress and will probable die soon.

So today I broke down and bout the high dollar tester, plus I only had 1 strip left. I also bought 4 more plants and remove any that looked unhealthy.

55 Gallon Tank

PH- 7.6 or higher

Ammonia 0 ppm

Nitrite- 1.0

Nitrate 10ppm

Sink water

PH-6.6

Ammonia 0ppm

Nitrite 0ppm

Nitrate 0ppm

Fish left

1 African Frog

1 Betta in a Fry tank so she doesn’t hurt anyone

1 Albino Cory Catfish

1 (forgot the name) catfish

2 Angle fish

3 Platys

3 mollys and one looks like he might die tonight.

10 guppies

Plants

Added tonight

2 Bleher

1 Melon Sword

1 Argentine Sword

I don’t know much about plants, but I did the tests before adding them

Already in tank

Micro sword

Some combo set/ 1 was bamboo