Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-23-2021, 03:04 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 5
10 to 40 gal swap advice please

In a bit of good timing, just as my current 10 gal tank has developed a slow leak, my friend offered me his empty 40 gal octagon tank. I currently only have 1 Cory catfish in my 10, but Iíd like to get him swapped over ASAP. Iíd also like to use sand substrate instead of gravel, as I plan to get some more Coreys once settled. Iím hoping to get some advice on swapping over. I guess itís basically a fish-in cycle?. Iíll have new pumps and filters for the tank, but I plan to hang the old filter and some gravel in a bag on the new tank. Should I use most of the water from my 10 and then top off the rest with fresh treated water, or use all new water? Should I add some bottled bacteria (Seachem stability, etc .)to help with the larger volume of water? I want to do this right, but as I said, my old tank is leaking and I donít have a ton of time on my side. All advice is appreciated. Thanks!
__________________

__________________
J.B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2021, 06:11 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
charliebankston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Texas Gulf coast
Posts: 1,799
The camp is split so to speak on bottled bacteria. Imo it doesn't work, but it can't hurt. No beneficial bacteria is in the water, so new treated water wouldn't hurt. The bb is in the old filter primarily, so moving it over or at least the established media will help seed/ cycle your new tank much quicker. Substrate has a little bb, but for one fish your not gonna lose enough to matter anyway. Just watch your water parameters for a few weeks and you should be good to go
__________________

__________________
charliebankston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2021, 09:12 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Posts: 5
Thanks. Iíve gathered that if I run my old filter when I swap things should generally be fine. I have a basic understanding of the cycle and the need for bacteria to tackle the ammonia and so on. Iím somewhat ignorant as to the effects of putting the fish in ďnewĒ or ďdifferentĒ water. I would assume that if you have fresh, treated water in a new tank setup that has run for a day, and you put a fish in, the fish would be fine. Itís when the ammonia appears from the food and fish waste that things go bad. If you keep an eye on parameters and do water changes as needed, seems safe. But I guess Iím wondering if thereís any acclimation process needed. Is it safe to simply put my fish in the new tank, given that the water temperature will be the same, but itís not the water heís used to?
__________________
J.B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2021, 10:00 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
charliebankston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Texas Gulf coast
Posts: 1,799
Quote:
Originally Posted by J.B. View Post
Thanks. Iíve gathered that if I run my old filter when I swap things should generally be fine. I have a basic understanding of the cycle and the need for bacteria to tackle the ammonia and so on. Iím somewhat ignorant as to the effects of putting the fish in ďnewĒ or ďdifferentĒ water. I would assume that if you have fresh, treated water in a new tank setup that has run for a day, and you put a fish in, the fish would be fine. Itís when the ammonia appears from the food and fish waste that things go bad. If you keep an eye on parameters and do water changes as needed, seems safe. But I guess Iím wondering if thereís any acclimation process needed. Is it safe to simply put my fish in the new tank, given that the water temperature will be the same, but itís not the water heís used to?
Yes, I've switched tanks many times, new to old, old to new bigger, etc, and never had an issue. I generally use some of the old water just for a few pennies saved on my water bill and the fish are in a tote waiting for set up, so there's water to use there. But I've never had any issues with temp or ph etc
__________________
charliebankston is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
advice, swap

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
20 gal high planted swap mr.waffles1842 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 02-17-2012 11:49 AM
my fish had itch please help new to the site and about to swap tanks mundy Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 4 07-01-2011 11:58 AM
getting ready to swap out sand and rock egon Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 02-01-2004 11:03 PM
AA.com frag swap reefrunner69 New Acquisitions 3 10-29-2003 08:56 AM
Tank Swap rthoman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 09-18-2002 04:28 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.