Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 02-04-2005, 04:13 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

20 gallon

I have a 10 gallon aquarium that has been set up for a while. I inherited a 20 gallon from my grandparents, but decided not to set it up due to the size and having no where to put it (I'm in college, and share an on-campus apartment). After learning a TON about fish (I've been on this forum for a while and have been looking at anything I can get my hands on about fish) I would really like to set up the 20 gallon. The only question I have is what would the cost be? As a college student, I have to budget my money pretty well. I am aware that fish keeping is expensive, but I have a lot of things (food, salt, testing supplies, etc.) already from my 10 gallon so i at least wouldn't have to buy that for a while. What would be a cost estimate to get a tropical tank set up? I would need a stand, filter, heater basically everything other than the tank and hood. Anyone with a 20 gallon have any input? Thanks!! (Also, buying fish wouldn't be a problem, as my sister has guppies that will not stop breeding and I have one male and 2 female mollies)

Thank you!

Old 02-04-2005, 04:20 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Send a message via AIM to lyquidphyre
im a college student with no money and I manage to keep two 29's and a 75gal

Always shop around and look in your local papers and even ebay for things. I personally think you could set up your tank for less than $50 if you shop around
Stand- go to any garage sales or thrift stores and find a table that will support approx. 300lbs. You could find something like that for less than $20. My boyfriends 29gal sits on a table he bought for $4