Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-25-2020, 10:24 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

40 Gallon - Overstocked?

Hello, I am new to the hobby and wondering if I got to many fish and if the may not be compatible. Its a 40 gallon tank with 6 tetras, 3 dalmation molly, 3 panda molly, 2 angel fish, 1 rainbow shark, and 3 Asian algea eaters. All of the fish are younger and not full grown. They seem to be getting along now but i am worried about when they get older and bigger.

Old 05-25-2020, 11:52 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathan_sev View Post
Hello, I am new to the hobby and wondering if I got to many fish and if the may not be compatible. Its a 40 gallon tank with 6 tetras, 3 dalmation molly, 3 panda molly, 2 angel fish, 1 rainbow shark, and 3 Asian algea eaters. All of the fish are younger and not full grown. They seem to be getting along now but i am worried about when they get older and bigger.
I would say that's a bit much anglefish need a lot of room most people would say 10 gallons per angelfish, I hope your tank is already cycled also that all of your Molly's are female because they breed like crazy and have a lot of babies

Old 05-26-2020, 06:57 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic

MY first question is Chinese or Siamese Algae eaters, it makes a HUGE difference in how they will interact with their tank mates as they get bigger
Old 05-26-2020, 11:59 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie

They are Chinese algae eaters.
Old 05-26-2020, 01:00 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak

40 Gallon - Overstocked?

Keep Chinese algae eaters in groups
Old 05-26-2020, 01:02 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak

I believe both will suck off the slime coat if other fish during the night when they get big enough right?
Old 05-27-2020, 07:44 PM   #7