55 Gallon filter and cloudy water help.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

AMSisme

Aquarium Advice Newbie
HI, im new to any type of forum so i hope im doing this right lol.

I have recently upgraded to a 55 gallon fish tank, where I now only have a large bala shark, juvenile tiger oscar, medium pleco and a pictus catfish.

The problem is the oscar is beginning to create ALOT of waste as expected and i only have a large internal filter, which is now making the water very cloudy and algae gets a crazy growth on when given the chance.

I do regular water changes, cleaning of the filter but I believe my filter is not strong enough and large enough to keep up with waste which is being created and i therefore cannot get the water clear.

So before I go and buy a Fluval 205 canister filter or something similar, I would like to know that this would help clear the water and hopefully reduce the rate that algae grows.

This is mainly so that i have clear water and secondly so that my girlfriend does not think im wasting all that money on a canister filter for nothing. lol

Thanks for your time x

Is it a common pleco? If so then you should just get rid of it now. It jst poops like crazy and dosent really eat much algae. When did you setup this new tank, exactly? Couple days, two weeks, a month? Do you test you water parameters? How long do you keep your light on? When you clean your filter do you use tap water? How much and how often do you feed?

With all these questions answered everyone can help you better.