55g African Cichlid Tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jaked1123

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey everybody!

So long story short, I entered a raffle for a 55g aquarium kit when buying a Rainbow Cichlid for my 75g SA Cichlid tank. Well, I won! And well, I didn't really think about having another tank but now I do.

So now I've been doing research on things I haven't kept before, something different than a normal tropical setup. African Cichlids came to mind. I watch the aquarium youtuber KGTropicals and they get their cichlids from an online breeder. I contacted said breeder about what he would do with a 55g stock (Malawi) and the images I attached are his exact list, a mix of all 3 types of malawis and claimed they should all be compatible.

I don't wanna doubt his knowledge, especially seeing as I'm no AC expert myself, but I'm a bit nervous about spending this much money for chaos and death. So this leads to my question: Does this look okay? What are the chances of this working out long-term?

Other ideas I had were:

6 Discus (also pushing it, I know. If you have thoughts on this idea please say)

Saltwater Tank (not reef, this would be my first saltwater setup)

One thing I should mention is I'm a college student who will only be home at least once every 2 weeks. I have family who watch after and feed my fish but they refuse to water change. This is why I've always stocked my tanks only moderately. Would the discus idea or african cichlids idea be eliminated right away with this water change schedule? I always heavily overfiltrate but I understand it isn't always enough.

Attachments

• af1.jpg
    af1.jpg
    61.6 KB · Views: 88
  • af2.jpg
    af2.jpg
    62.3 KB · Views: 98
Just keep in mind the bigger the fish the larger or more frequently the water changes will be. How long will they be going without a change?