Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-15-2013, 10:30 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sillyfishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Omaha,Nebraska
Posts: 3,374
AC50 maintenance

Ok so I have a new AC50 with biomax on top, polyfill in the middle, and the foam on the bottom.

What maintenance do I have to do/ when should I replace everything. Thanks!
__________________

__________________
90g Reef
30g Long Frag Tank
10g Planted
3g Pico Reef
Sillyfishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 10:50 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bud29's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: In a van, down by the river
Posts: 3,673
Send a message via Yahoo to bud29
Usually people replace polyfill pretty often, because it gets clogged up so easily. Some people replace it every 3-4 days. Once a week during my water change I give my aquaclear media a swish in a bucket of tank water, to clear things up, and I also rinse out the impeller. This keeps flow as high as possible.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
bud29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 10:52 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sillyfishies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Omaha,Nebraska
Posts: 3,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by bud29 View Post
Usually people replace polyfill pretty often, because it gets clogged up so easily. Some people replace it every 3-4 days. Once a week during my water change I give my aquaclear media a swish in a bucket of tank water, to clear things up, and I also rinse out the impeller. This keeps flow as high as possible.
Stupid question but how do you rinse out the impeller:P?
__________________
90g Reef
30g Long Frag Tank
10g Planted
3g Pico Reef
Sillyfishies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 10:54 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bud29's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: In a van, down by the river
Posts: 3,673
Send a message via Yahoo to bud29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sillyfishies View Post
Stupid question but how do you rinse out the impeller:P?
I take off the intake tube, then inside there's that hole that the intake tube usually sits on - the wheel inside is the impeller. I just pour water on it with a tub or cup, to rinse off any dirt or grime.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
bud29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.