ADVICE for peaceful community tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

goldengirl

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have currently recieved a tank that it:
length - 76 cm
width - 32 cm
height - 32cm

I am a newbie with larger tanks and I really need some help picking my fish. commitment is not an issue, neither is care. I have all the time in the world.
Any suggestions on what kind of fish would co-exist well together in the size of tank that I have? I do not have live plants, I plan to stick with fake.
Help please?

Eek. Metric.

I guess that's a 30 x 13 x 13 inches? How many gallons does that hold?

Do you currently have any fish that you're planning on putting in there?

smilla4 said:
Eek. Metric.

I guess that's a 30 x 13 x 13 inches? How many gallons does that hold?

Do you currently have any fish that you're planning on putting in there?

we are not sure of the gallons. it was given to me by my aunt... we think that it holds 20 gallons.
i currently have goldies in there cycling it. but they will not stay in there, im going from scratch.

Yup, about 20 gallons. What do you want to do with it other than have a peaceful community? Lots of movement and color? Slow methodical fish which often stop periodically?

A school of tetras and some cories.
Livebearers and some cories.
Without plants I'd say to leave out most algae eaters unless you have it brightly lit with flourescent bulbs.
Many smaller loaches tend to be semi-aggressive so you probably don't want them.
I believe a few of the smaller plecos are also semi-territorial and therefore semi-aggressive.
You could toss in a few ghost shrimp as well.

If it were me I'd add a few plants so I could have a community with some bolivian or german rams included but I don't think they would be very easy to care for in an unplanted tank.